Research Guides @ Fordham: Human Rights: Trafficking

Databases

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Gender Studies Database
Combines the Women's Studies International Index and Men's Studies Index and contains almost 1 million records dating from the 1970's up to the present. Index with some full text.
HeinOnline Law Library

Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more. Special collections include: John F. Kennedy assassination, history of capital punishment, slavery in America and the world, Gun regulation and legislation, women and the law, military and government.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR

NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA) Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). To use the new AI Research Tool, first select a subscribed journal article, Open Access book chapter, or research report.

NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Nexis Uni (AI add-on 7/1/25 - 6/30/26)

Major U.S. and world news , legal and business sources. SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, D&B and Hoover's Company Reports. Shephard's, Patents, and more. Features include alerts, saved searches, article summarizations, exportable charts, citation management tools, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers.
Nexis+AI - Jumpstart your research by asking questions and retrieving summarized responses across 13K approved global news and business sources with hypertext links.
FOR BEST RESULTS: CREATE ACCOUNT (ONLY FROM ON CAMPUS) & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.

A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.
New York Times (ProQuest)

Full text from 1980 to the present on the ProQuest platform.
ProQuest Research Library

Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
SocIndex with Full Text

Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Web Content

Boys -- The Silent Victims of Sex Trafficking
By Tim Swarens, USA Today Network, February 8, 2018.
Child Sex Trafficking in the United States: Challenges for the Healthcare Provider
Essay by V. Jordan Greenbaum. Published November 22, 2017 in PLoS Medicine, Vol. 14, Issue 11.
China - 2019 Trafficking in Persons Report
From the U.S. Department of State
Development in the Debate Over Diplomatic Immunity for Diplomats Who Enslave Domestic Workers
From DigitalCommons@University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Guidance to States and Services on Addressing Human Trafficking of Children and Youth in the United States
From the US Department of Health & Human Services, Administration for Children, Youth and Families (ACYF)
Human Trafficking
From the National Institute of Justice, March 23, 2018.
Human Trafficking/Involuntary Servitude
From the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
Human Trafficking
From the US Department of Homeland Security; last published March 27, 2018.
Human Trafficking - A Global Problem
By the U.S. Department of Homeland Security - U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement; page last updated & reviewed: November 2, 2017.
Human Trafficking and Child Welfare: A Guide for Child Welfare Agencies
From the Child Welfare Information Gateway; 2017.
Human Trafficking Awareness Training
From the US Department of State site
Human Trafficking Intersection With Child Welfare
From the National Center for State Courts
National Human Trafficking Resource Center
Hotline: 1-888-373-7888
Polaris Project - For a World Without Slavery
Prostitution of Children
From the United States Department of Justice
Special Issue - Where's the Evidence?
From the Anti-Trafficking Review, No. 8 (2017)
Syria - 2018 Trafficking in Persons Report
From the U.S. Department of State
Trafficking in Persons Report 2019
From the U.S. Department of State
Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000
From site Polaris
Trafficking Victims Protection Act
By Olivia Wilson, Esq. from the site Safe Horizon; April 25, 2017.
U.S. Laws on Trafficking in Persons
From the U.S. Department of State.
What is Modern Slavery?
From the US Department of State

Books & E-books: Trafficking

To find more items, access the Fordham Library Catalog.

The 272 by Rachel L. Swarns
Call Number: (RH, LC) E445.M3 S94 2023

New York: Random House, [2023]
Bilateral Cooperation and Human Trafficking: Eradicating Modern Slavery Between the United Kingdom and Nigeria by May Ikeora
Call Number: HQ281.I42 2018 (RH)

Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, [2018].
Brokered Subjects: Sex, Trafficking, and the Politics of Freedom by Elizabeth Bernstein
Call Number: HQ281.B584 2018 (RH)

Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2018.
A Feminist Perspective on Human Trafficking of Women and Girls: Characteristics, Commonalities and Complexities by Nancy M. Sidun (Ed.)
Call Number: HQ281.F46 2018 (RH)

UK: Routledge, 2018.
Human Trafficking: A Reference Handbook by Alexis A. Aronowitz
Call Number: E-book

Santa Barbara, CA; ABC-CLIO, [2017].
Modern Slavery: A Global Perspective by Siddharth Kara
Call Number: HQ281.K367 2017 (RH)

New York, NY: Columbia UP, [2017].
The Politics of Unfree Labour in Russia: Human Trafficking and Labour Migration by Mary Buckley
Call Number: HQ281.B783 2018 (RH)

New York, NY: Cambridge UP, 2018.
Responding to Human Trafficking: Dispossession, Colonial Violence, and Resistance Among Indigenous and Racialized Women by Julie Kaye
Call Number: HQ281.K39 2017 (RH)

Toronto, Canada: University of Toronto Press, 2017.

Human Rights: Trafficking

Databases

Web Content

Books & E-books: Trafficking

Reference & Instruction Department