Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Help: Getting Started

Getting Started at Fordham University Libraries

Welcome to the Reference Help research guide! This guide is designed to help the Fordham community navigate library resources.

This page should help you get started using the Library Catalog and OneSearch to:

  • Find books
  • Find articles
  • Find the full text of articles in specific publications

Library Catalog Searching & Placing Holds

This video demonstrates how to search the library catalog and how to place holds on books.

For optimal viewing, right click to open up the video in a new tab and use Full screen icon full screen mode.

Using OneSearch

This video covers how to use OneSearch to find books, articles and more.

For optimal viewing, right click to open up the video in a new tab and use Full screen icon full screen mode.

Searching for Publications

This shows to lookup and specific publication and find full text articles.

For optimal viewing, right click to open up the video in a new tab and use Full screen icon full screen mode.

OneSearch Background

OneSearch Discovery

 

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is Fordham's search platform that aggregates most of the library’s electronic and print resources, making them all searchable at the same time from one central location. The purpose of OneSearch is to streamline your research process; now, instead of having to go to the library catalog to search for books and individual databases to search for articles, you can do all of your searching through the OneSearch platform.

 

What can I search using OneSearch?

OneSearch includes the Fordham Library Catalog, most of the databases, the Institutional Repository, and our Digital Collections. When you search using OneSearch, you will find books, articles, images, graphs, charts, and more.

 

What are the advantages to using OneSearch?

 

     Save you time with your research. OneSearch  makes all of Fordham Library resources  searchable from one location, so you no longer have to search individual databases one at a time.

     Help you discover resources that you may not find without using OneSearch, because OneSearch is searching a large number of databases at once.

     Is a good starting point for your research; by using such an expansive search tool, you will get a sense of the depth and breadth of the resources on your topic.

     See most relevant results displayed first, whether they are books, scholarly articles, media or digital content.

 

How do I search OneSearch?

Enter keywords in the single search box just as you would in an internet search engine. It's not unusual for searches to return thousands of results, but you can refine your search using the options on the left side of your results screen, such as content type, subject or date. For a more specific search, use the Advanced Search option.  When available, full text PDF and HTML documents will be shown in the search results page.

 

Does it include everything that the library owns?

OneSearch does not search all databases that Fordham subscribes to. For example, it does not include non web-based databases, ones that are available on CD-ROM, and/or require access from dedicated workstations. In addition, some databases are not included due to publisher restrictions. Those databases can be searched as separate resources on the Databases A-Z list. More content will be added to OneSearch as it becomes available. See the content list attachment below. Please contact Lynn Parliman, Head, Serials & Electronic Resources for more details. (parliman@fordham.edu)

 

I'm having trouble using OneSearch. Help!

Fordham University Librarians are here to help you with your research. For searching and reference questions, please go to the Library Homepage and click on Ask a Librarian where you can text your question or find phone help contacts. For AccessIT ID problems, contact 718-817-3999 or email HelpIT@fordham.edu. For access problems, contact Lynn Parliman, Head - Serials & Electronic Resources, (parliman@fordham.edu)

 

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Use the box below to open up a live chat with a librarian.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)