Research Guides @ Fordham: Human Rights: Minorities

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic, minority, and native presses with diverse perspectives from 1959-present (varies by publication). Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People; and Multi-Ethnic People.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the subject of gender roles. Covers both men and women, gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. The collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars of anthropology (archeology and ethnology), art, geography, government and politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, political economy, and sociology; and edited by librarians in the Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress (LOC).
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Complete bibliographic citations to hundreds of scholarly journals covering political, economic, social, and artistic topics for Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Includes some full text.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA). Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text of OUP reference books on African Americans. Includes the entire contents of the Dictionary of African Biography and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Books - Minorities

For more items, access the Fordham Library Catalog.

Minority Groups: Coercion, Discrimination, Exclusion, and Deviance and the Quest for Equality by Dan Soen
Call Number: JC312.M5564 2012 (RH)
New York, NY: Nova Science, 2012.
Old and New Minorities: Reconciling Diversity and Cohesion by Roberta Medda
Call Number: JV7590.M385 2009 (RH)
Baden-Baden, [Germany]: Nomos, 2009.
Originally presented as the author's PhD thesis, University of Graz, 2007.
Quiet Diplomacy in Action: The OSCE High Commissioner on National Minorities by Walter A. Kemp (Ed.); Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, High Commissioner on National Minorities Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: D1056.Q58 2001 (RH)
Boston, MA: Kluwer, Law International, 2001.
Race and Immigration by Nazil Kibria
Call Number: E-book
Malden, MA: Polity, 2014.