Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases - Immigrants
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
EBSCOhost Databases List This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the subject of gender roles. Covers both men and women, gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. The collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.
Notable Library Books
Call Number: (RH) E184.A1 Z36 2019
New York: New York University Press, 
Call Number: (RH) E185.61 .Y36 2018
Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2018
Becoming the Anti-Racist Church by
Call Number: (RH) BT734.2 .B33 2011
Minneapolis: Fortress Press, ©2011
How to Be an Antiracist by
Call Number: (RH, LC) E184.A1 K344 2019
New York: One World, 
Note: E-book also available
The Impacts of Racism and Bias on Black People Pursuing Careers in Science, Engineering, and Medicine by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks Q147 .I473 2020
Washington, DC : the National Academies Press, 
This Is the Fire by
Call Number: (RH, LC) E185.615 .L46 2021
New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2021
Under the Skin by
Call Number: (RH, LC) RA448.5.B53 V55 2022
New York: Doubleday, a division of Penguin Random House LLC, 
NOTE: Also available as E-book
What White People Can Do Next by
Call Number: HT1521 .D33 2021
New York: Harper Perennial, 
White Freedom by
Call Number: (RH, LC) JC585 .S756 2021
Princeton; Oxford: Princeton University Press, 
Woke Racism by
Call Number: (RH, LC) E185.86 .M4273 2021 ***NOTE: Also available as E-Book
New York: Portfolio/Penguin, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 
Books & E-books
For more items, access the Fordham Library Catalog.
Latino Immigrants in the United States by
Call Number: E184.S75 M59 2012 (RH)
Malden, MA: Polity, 2012.
The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship and Hope in an American Classroom by
Call Number: LC3732.C6 T56 2017 (RH LC)
New York, NY: Scribner, 2017.
Unruly Immigrants: Rights, Activism, and Transnational South Asian Politics in the United States by
Call Number: E184.S69 D37 2006 (RH LC)
Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2006.
Alien - Definition
From the Legal Information Institute, Cornell University Law School
Challenge Unjust Immigrant Detainers
From the National Immigrant Justice Center
Challenging Unjust Mandatory Detention of Immigrants
By Mara Isaacson; published November 4, 2013. From the American Civil Liberties Union
Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees
By Guy S. Goodwin-Gill; UN Audiovisual Library of International Law; July 28, 1951.
Deportation vs. the Cost of Letting Illegal Immigrants Stay
By Steven A. Camarota, PhD; Center for Immigration Studies - a Washington, DC-based research institute; August 3, 2017.
From the New York Civil Liberties Union
Laying Out a Case for Deporting Human Rights Abusers
By Clyde Haberman, The New York Times, Retro Report, November 9, 2014.
Migration and Human Rights
From United Nations Human Rights
Unfair Immigration Polities
From the Human Rights Watch
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)