Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bet Databases
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Print with online access to the website has been discontinued for institutions. Search our library catalog for other online options (with embargoes). Articles from the print newspaper starting from September 2020 are available by request to firstname.lastname@example.org
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile)
Full text access to publications from domestic and international organizations.
Political & economic intelligence, data, analysis, briefings & news across the globe. Detailed information on nearly 200 countries including maps, names of leaders, religions, and more. NO access to: Video, Elections, Forecasts, Country Briefing.
CQ Historic Documents
Full text of thousands of U.S. documents since 1972, including presidential speeches, treaties, Supreme Court decisions and various government reports. Use the Search Box to find all editions.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
EBSCOhost Databases List
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
Full text of minority newspapers and magazines since 1991
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the subject of gender roles. Covers both men and women, gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. The collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications.
HeinOnline Law Library
Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more. Special collections include: John F. Kennedy assassination, history of capital punishment, slavery in America and the world, Gun regulation and legislation, women and the law.
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
Index to articles from law journals and books dating back to 1908.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & JOURNALS) - ENDS 6/30/21
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1:n. 1. Access to current subscribed content of participating titles included. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Now includes Hoover's Company Reports. Major U.S. and world news company profiles, SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases including Supreme Court decisions back to 1790. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. FOR BEST RESULTS: MUST CREATE ACCOUNT & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS. Click on the Business box for Company Dossier information.
Making of America, journals and monographs (Cornell University)
A collaborative effort between Cornell University and the University of Michigan, these two institutions developed a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers with Index
Full text of the New York Times for 1851-2012 and Index for 1851-1993.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Premier online resource for helping students explore today's hottest social issues from all perspectives. * Note: Only 85-90% of each Reference title is included in the database. Some material is omitted because of online rights issues.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Bibliographies in 11 subjects: African Studies, Art History, Buddhism, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Renaissance & Reformation, and Social Work. Citations are linked to full text when available.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Four-volume work capturing the experiences of women throughout history.
ProQuest Research Library
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch.
For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Library Research Tutorial
Suggested Individual Periodicals
Need Materials from Outside Fordham?
Cannot find items you need for your research?
- Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections beyond Fordham’s holdings.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)