Research Guides @ Fordham: Human Rights: Disabilities

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
HeinOnline Law Library This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more. Special collections include: John F. Kennedy assassination, history of capital punishment, slavery in America and the world, Gun regulation and legislation, women and the law, military and government.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA). Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
NEW PLATFORM. Major U.S. and world news company profiles, SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and Hoover's Company Reports. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers. FOR BEST RESULTS: MUST CREATE ACCOUNT & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.
See link below for downloading information....
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Books & E-books

To find more items, access the Fordham Library Catalog.

Disability and Rurality: Identity, Gender, and Belonging by Karen Soldatic
Call Number: E-book
London: Routledge, 2017.
The Disability Rights Movement: From Charity to Confrontation by Doris Fleischer; Frieda Zames
Call Number: HV1553.F58 2011 (LC)
Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Press, 2011.
Human Rights and Disability Advocacy by Maya Sabatello (Ed.)
Call Number: E-book
Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2014.
International Human Rights and Mental Disability Law: When the Silenced are Heard by Michael L. Perlin
Call Number: K640.P47 2012 (WC)
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2012.
Law and the Contradictions of the Disability Rights Movement by Samuel R. Bagenstos
Call Number: E-book
New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2009.
Maltreatment of People With Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities by John R. Lutzker
Call Number: HV3004.M36 2016 (LC)
Washington, DC: American Association of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, [2016].

Web Content: Disabilities

ADA Amendments Act of 2008
Advancing Disability-Inclusive Development
From USAID
Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990
"Individuals with disabilities are protected from discrimination in employment primarily by two federal laws, [The Americans With Disabilities Act and The Rehabilitation Act of 1973]". From the US Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy
Civil Rights Issues for People With Disabilities
From the site The Arc - Public Policy and Legal Advocacy
Convention on the Rights of Persons With Disabilities
Disability
From the 5th edition of the Health and Human Rights Resource Guide. The Guide "was revised and edited by the François-Xavier Bagnoud (FBX) Center for Health and Human Rights at the Harvard School of Public Health." Disability is only one chapter in the guide.
Disability and Health
From the World Health Organization; fact sheet reviewed January 2018.
Disability Rights Section
From the U.S. Department of Justice
Employment Rights: Who Has Them and Who Enforces Them: Disability Employment Policy
US Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy
Human Rights of Persons With Disabilities
From United Nations Human Rights, Office of the High Commissioner
International Disability Rights
From the US Department of State
National Council on Disability
"Federal agency charged with advising Federal agencies about policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities."
Scientists Explore How Technology Can Expand Human Rights for People with Disabilities. and Everyone
By James Thurston, Director of International Accessibility Policy at Microsoft, February 7, 2014; Microsoft Accessibility Blog
Westchester County Office for the Disabled

Human Rights: Disabilities

Databases

Books & E-books

Web Content: Disabilities

Reference & Instruction Department