Research Guides @ Fordham: Human Rights: Medicine

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
EBSCOhost Databases List This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only. For search strings with more than 255 characters, use PubMed with journal JAMA.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA). Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch. For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine NLM.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users.

Password required.

Open access content.

Contains multimedia content such as music or video.

Contains statistical data. Contains statistics / data.

Books & E-books: Medicine

To find more items, access the Fordham Library Catalog.

Ethical Considerations for Research Involving Prisoners by Lawrence O. Gostin
Call Number: E-book
Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 2007.
Health and Human Rights: Basic International Documents by Stephen P. Marks (Ed.)
Call Number: RA418.H3956 2006 (RH)
Cambridge, MA: Francios-Xavier Bagnoud Center for Health and Human Rights; Distributed by Harvard University Press, 2006.
2nd ed.
The Politics of Intellectual Property Rights and Access to Medicines by Valbona Muzaka
Call Number: RA418.M89 2011 (RH)
New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
Trust Is Not Enough: Bringing Human Rights to Medicine by David J. Rothman
Call Number: R724.R626 2006 (RH)
New York, NY: New York Review Books, 2006.