Research Guides @ Fordham: Human Rights: Social Work Profession

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Now on the Proquest platform! Online access to public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Code of Ethics

Code of Ethics of the National Association of Social Workers
Read the revised Code of Ethics. Code was approved on August 4, 2017.

Available in both English and Spanish, the Code of Ethics was approved by the 1996 NASW Delegate Assembly and revised by the 2008 NASW Delegate Assembly.

Books

Ethics and AIDS: Compassion and Justice in a Global Crisis by Kenneth Overberg (Ed.)
Call Number: R724.O94 2006 (RH LC)
Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2006.
Ethics and Values in Social Work by Sarah Banks
Call Number: HV10.5.B323 2012 (WC)
New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
From the Front Lines: Student Cases in Social Work Ethics by Juliet Cassuto Rothman
Call Number: HV43.R69 2011 (WC)
Boston, MA: Allyn and Bacon, 2011.
3rd ed.
Research with High-Risk Populations: Balancing Science, Ethics, and Law by David A. Buchanan; Celia B. Fisher
Call Number: E-book
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2009.
Fordham faculty author
When God's People Have HIV/AIDS: An Approach to Ethics by Maria Cimperman
Call Number: BX2347.8.A52 C56 2005 (RH)
Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 2005.

Principles of Environmental Justice

Books

Challenges in Human Rights: A Social Work Perspective by Elisabeth Reichert (Ed.)
Call Number: HV41.C364 2007 (LC WC)
New York, NY: Columbia University Press, 2007.
Confronting Injustice and Oppression: Concepts and Strategies for Social Workers by David G. Gil
Call Number: HM216.G457 2013 (WC)
New York, NY: Columbia University Press,, 2013.
Human Rights and Social Work: Towards Rights-Based Practice by Jim Ife
Call Number: HV40.I34 2012 (LC WC)
New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Just Practice: A Social Justice Approach to Social Work by Janet L. Finn
Call Number: HM671.F56 2008 (LC WC)
Peosta, IA: Eddie Bowers, 2008.
2nd ed.
Putting Universal Human Rights to Work: Policy Actions in the Struggle for Social Justice by Archibald Stuart
Call Number: HN65.S78 2012 (RH)
Lebanon, NH: Gordian Knot, 2012.
Social Work Practice with the LGBTQ Community: The Intersection of History, Health, Mental Health, and Policy Factors by Michael P. Dentato (Ed.)
Call Number: HV40.S643 2018 (WC)
New York, NY: Oxford UP, [2018].
Social Work and Human Rights: A Foundation for Policy and Practice by Elisabeth Reichert
Call Number: HV41.R433 2011 (LC WC)
New York, NY: Columbia University Press, 2011.
2nd ed.
Social Work Speaks: National Association of Social Workers Policy Statements, 2015-2017 by NASW Press Staff
Call Number: HV88.N15 2015 (LC WC)
Washington, DC: National Association of Social Workers, 2015.
10th ed.
See chapter: International policy on human rights
Social Work, Social Justice and Human Rights: A Structural Approach to Practice by Colleen Lundy
Call Number: HV41..L85 2011 (LC WC)
North York, Ont.: University of Toronto, 2011.
2nd ed.
Social Work with Immigrants and Refugees: Legal Issues, Clinical Skills, and Advocacy by Fernando Chang-Muy; Elaine Piller Congress
Call Number: JV6465.S63 2016 (LC) (WC)
New York, NY: Springer, [2016].
Fordham faculty author

Web Content: Social Workers

Conceptual Muddle, Practical Dilemma: Human Rights, Social Development and Social Work Education
By Janet George in International Social Work, Vol. 42, No. 1, 1999, pp.15-26.
Exploring the History of Social Work as a Human Rights Profession
By Lynne M. Healy from the journal International Social Work, volume 51, p. 735.
Human Rights
From the site International Federation of Social Workers; lists the basic Human Rights instruments, etc.; Feb. 2012.
Human Rights and Social Work Values
From The New Social Worker: The Social Work Careers Magazine
Placing Human Rights at the Center of the Social Work Profession
By Elisabeth Reichert, from the Journal of Intergroup Relations, Spring 2001.
Reflections on Social Work and Human Rights
From Bournemouth University, UK; April 2, 2014.
The Role of Social Workers as Human Rights Workers With Indigenous People and Communities
From the Australian Human Rights Commission; by Tom Calma. Social Work Orientation Week Seminar. Australian Catholic University, February 12, 2008.
Social Justice
From the National Association of Social Workers
Social Work for Social Justice: Ten Principles
From St. Catherine University and the University of St. Thomas School of Social Work, rev. 2010. Sources: NASW Code of Ethics, U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, Office of Social Justice, Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis.
Standards in Social Work Practice Meeting Human Rights: Executive Summary
By the International Federation of Social Workers European Region E.V.; publication is available for download on www.ifsw.org/europe
Teaching a Human Rights Approach to Social Workers in China
From the Raoul Wallenberg Institute, Sweden; July 1, 2016.

Human Rights Education

The Right to Human Rights Education
The Right to Human Rights Education - A compilation of provisions of international and regional instruments dealing with human rights education; September 2014.

Human Rights: Social Work Profession

Databases

Code of Ethics

Books

Principles of Environmental Justice

Books

Web Content: Social Workers

Human Rights Education

Reference & Instruction Department