Research Guides @ Fordham: Human Rights: Civil Rights Movement

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA). Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971

Books & E-books: Civil Rights Movement

To find more items, access the Fordham Library Catalog.

But for Birmingham: The Local and National Movements in the Civil Rights Struggle by Glenn T. Eskew
Call Number: E-book
Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1997.
The Debate on Black Civil Rights in America by Kevern Verney
Call Number: E185.61.V477 2006 (RH)
New York, NY: Manchester University Press, 2006.
Icons of African American Protest: Trailblazing Activists of the Civil Rights Movement by Gladys L. Knight (Ed.)
Call Number: E185.96.K56 2009 (RH)
Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2009.
Volumes 1 & 2
We Ain't What We Ought to Be: The Black Freedom Struggle From Emancipation to Obama by Stephen Tuck
Call Number: E185.T797 2010 (RH)
Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 2010.

Web Content: Civil Rights Movement

Baltimore News American Photograph Collection
These photographs represent the everyday coverage of the civil rights movement from the perspective of a broad-circulation daily newspaper. This includes images of riots, demonstrations, politicians, and local events that have become part of the struggle for civil rights in Maryland, as well as southern states like Alabama and Mississippi.
Civil Rights Digital Library
An extensive collection of digitized resources about the Civil Rights Movement across the United States. Includes an interactive map, keyword search, and browsable index of people, places, and topics related to Civil Rights in America.
The Civil Rights Movement and the Second Reconstruction, 1945-1968
From the site History, Art & Archives, United States House of Representatives.
Civil Rights Resource Guide
A list of online resources pertaining to the Civil Rights Movement across America, compiled by the Library of Congress. Includes links to online exhibits, guides, bibliographies, and digitized resources.
Documents Related to Brown v. Board of Education
An extensive resource from the National Archives about Brown v. Board of Education decision. Provides access to digitized documents from the case, including the judgment and dissenting opinions.
Freedom Riders
Part of the American Experience series developed by PBS, this site provides extensive information about the civil rights activists who rode interstate buses from May until November 1961 in order to challenge segregation in America. Includes full episode and biographies of individuals involved.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
Online access to publications from the USCCR from the University of Maryland Thurgood Marshall Law Library. Searchable by date, subject, and geographic region.
Jim Crow and Segregation
From the Library of Congress. Includes Teacher's Guide and primary sources.
The Modern Civil Rights Movement, 1954-1964
From the U.S. National Park Service
The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
Created by PBS, the web site offers information about the end of institutionalized slavery in America and the development of the Jim Crow laws. Includes interactive timelines and maps, as well as tools and activities for teachers.

Thanks

Credit for much of the web content on this page goes to William Olsen of Georgetown University Libraries.

Human Rights: Civil Rights Movement

Databases

Books & E-books: Civil Rights Movement

Web Content: Civil Rights Movement

Thanks

Reference & Instruction Department