Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture & Urban Design: Commercial Real Estate

The Architecture & Urban Design Research Guide will assist researchers interested in exploring related topics within the field of architecture.

Commercial Real Estate

Resources for researching topics related to

Commercial Real Estate

Commercial R/E

 

https://c1.staticflickr.com/6/5001/5300999535_42a6a5e4c3_b.jpg  (retrieved: 10/24/17)

Commercial R/E Organizations

NAIOP Commercial Real Estate Development Association

NAIOP advocates for effective legislation on behalf of its members. As the recognized leader for commercial real estate, NAIOP furthers the industry’s public policy agenda by actively working with elected officials on legislative issues affecting its welfare.  In addition, this site promotes industry networking and professional development opportunities, Blog posts, and statistical data in State Reports.

GSA Logo

“The mission of GSA is to deliver the best value in real estate, acquisition, and technology services to government and the American people.”

Resource for information about Policy & Regulations, Technology, U.S. Government data, Historic Preservation, facilities management / smart buildings, etc.

The Institute of Real Estate Management is an international community of real estate managers dedicated to ethical business practices, maximizing the value of investment real estate, and promoting superior management through education and information sharing.

BOMA Building Owners and Managers Association International is a primary source of information on office building development, leasing, building operating costs, sustainability, local and national building codes, legislation, occupancy statistics and technological developments.

USGBC  US GREEN Business Council works with government, member businesses and allied organizations to support policies and programs that advance greener buildings and communities.

They use direct advocacy, strategic partnerships, campaigns and engagement to drive development of standards, programs and regulations that enable a greener, more resilient and prosperous future.

The mission of the Urban Land Institute is to provide leadership in the responsible use of land and in creating and sustaining thriving communities worldwide. Its members represent the entire spectrum of land use and real estate development disciplines, working in private enterprise and public service. ULI members are the people that plan, develop and redevelop neighborhoods, business districts and communities across the U.S. and around the world.

Real Estate Board of New York | New York City Real Estate

Represents over 17,000 NYC real estate professionals - highlights industry educational opportunities, news & events, benefits & awards, member services, partnerships & sponsorships, as well as establishing a Professional Code of Ethics and Professional Committees for the local Real Estate Industry. 

CREI - US Commercial Real Estate Index inputs diagram

The US Commercial Real Estate Index ("CREI") is designed to demonstrate the relative strength of the US Commercial Real Estate market. The index is composed of eight economic drivers...

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/ab/CREI_Inputs.JPG/636px-CREI_Inputs.JPG (retrieved: 10/24/17)

Databases at Fordham for research in Commercial Real Estate

ABI/INFORM Collection

Full text of articles from hundreds of leading business journals. Includes market and industry reports from Euromonitor, D&B, Business Monitor, Plunkett Research and more, Times 100 Business Cases, NBER working papers, EIU Country Reports and other key business resources.

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.

Barron's

Financial news coverage on Proquest's updated platform. Full text from 1988 - Present.

Business Source Complete

Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.

Credo Reference - Academic Core

Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks. Covers diverse subjects and all key academic disciplines. Includes conceptual Mind Mapping and Visualization.

Directory of Open Access Journals 

  • Open access content
Free full-text access to quality controlled scholarly journals covering all topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Online access to encyclopedias and reference works on business, education, American history, sociology, psychology, religion, medicine and congressional legislation.

HathiTrust Digital Library 

  • Open access content
Partnership of major research institutions and libraries creating digital archive of library materials. Full text access only to the portion of the archive that are public domain works, indicated by "Full View". Downloading or printing depends on each title's copyright status. Click into each title to see entitlements on the left sidebar.
Full text of the L.A. Times for 1881-1990.
Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993)
Full text of The New York Times for 1851-2007, with Index (1851-1993).
Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)
Full text of The Wall Street Journal for 1889-1994
Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Full text of the Washington Post for 1877-1997.

JSTOR

Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1:n. 1. Access to current subscribed content of participating titles included. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings.

Newspaper Source (Ebsco)

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

OECD Economic Surveys 

  • Contains statistical data
Full text of over 1.7 million books, documents and articles from thousands of journals and newspapers.

Open Access Digital Library 

  • Open access content
Free access to over 14,000 full text, scholarly journals in a variety of subjects.

Proquest Research Library

Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega

Index and abstracts to over 400 journals since 1983. Includes full text of many articles.

Reading about Commercial Real Estate

Call Number subject classifications related to Real Estate

HD1361-1395.5 Real Estate

HT51-1595 Communities. Classes. Races 

HT51-65 Human settlements. Communities

HT101-395 Urban groups. The city. Urban sociology 

HT161-165 Garden cities. "The city beautiful"

HT165.5-169.9 City planning 

HT170-178 Urban renewal. Urban redevelopment
HT201-221 City population Including children in cities, immigration 
HT231 Effect of city life
 
HT281 Recreation. Amusements 
HT321-325 The city as an economic factor. City promotion 
HT330-334 Metropolitan areas 
HT351-352 Suburban cities and towns 
HT361-384 Urbanization. City and country
HT388 Regional economics. Space in economics
HT390-395 Regional planning 
 

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)