Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research & Writing with a focus on Architectural Research
Students of architecture are required to conduct research and present their findings in accordance with standard research paper guidelines. The offerings of this page will help students meet those demands. In addition, resources are offered to further one's professional pursuits in the field.
The Research Process in Steps
Research methods generally follow this path but the order of steps is flexible:
- Choose a topic - browse reference books, databases, circulating book indexes, journals, association websites, etc.
- Make a list of subject terms related to your topic for literature searching. Look at thesauri in databases.
- Write an outline of your paper
- Decide what type of information you will need - supporting, empirical, primary, etc.
- Consider the format of the information that you will use - print, electronic, video, etc.
- Conduct a literature search to determine if your topic is feasible to research
- Organize your information
- Evaluate the materials that you found - are they relevant, credible, reliable and verifiable?
- Write the text of your paper
- Cite your resources
- Check, check and recheck your writing and citations
Some online help for 'Architectural Research Methods'
Top U.S. Graduate Programs in Architecture
Local Graduate School Architecture Programs
Hello Fordham Reference Librarians!
Writing a Research Paper
image cited from: https://custom-writing.org/blog/writing-tips/free-research-paper-writing-tips/24613.html (retrieved: 10/12/17)
Research - Observe / Analyze / Communicate (problem solve...)
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/ae/DSR_methodology.png (retrieved: 10/23/17)
After research & writing HELP with CITATION from some more experts...
APA Citation - Instructional Video
Research - Urban Planning
Research Design in Urban Planning by "This excellent book fills a significant gap in the literature supporting planning education by providing clear, succinct advice on the design and implementation of small-scale student research projects."- Chris Couch, Professor of Geography and Planning, University of Liverpool"A perfect text for supervisors to give students so that they plan their research projects carefully rather than leap headlong into data collection."- Jean Hillier, Emeritus Professor of Sustainability and Urban Planning, RMIT University, Melbourne"Highly recommended... Ranging across topics such as planning a research programme and data management and the handling of ethical issues, the book will be very helpful to those embarking on a thesis or dissertation in the field."- Peter Fidler, President of the University of Sunderland Research Design in Urban Planning: A Student's Guide is a brilliantly accessible guide to designing research for that all-important dissertation. Aimed at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, this text will: · discuss research design, outlining the stages of the research process in clear detail and the key decisions which need to be taken at each stage · explain to students how to re-interpret policy issues as researchable questions, appropriate for investigation · look in detail at how researchers make their choice of methods, helping students to justify their own decisions · reveal the ethical dimension to such decisions in the context of a growing requirement for the ethical approval of student projects · review the issues for comparative studies - important not least because of student involvement in Erasmus programs and AESOP workshops Packed with case studies, exercises, illustrations and summaries, Research Design in Urban Planning is an invaluable resource for students undertaking their first substantial, individual investigations.
Call Number: HT165.5 .F37 2016 Quinn Library
Research - Landscape Architecture
Landscape Architectural Research by A practical, single-source guide tosuccessful strategies for landscape architecture research As the scope of landscape architecture expands to engage with other disciplines, and streams of information directing this field continue to grow and diversify, it becomes increasingly important for landscape architects to be able to implement a range of effective research strategies when seeking, creating, and validating knowledge. Landscape Architecture Research offers a framework for advancing better design thinking solutions by supplying readers with a system of inquiry tactics that open up a wider range of research possibilities. With a logical and innovative approach that favors legitimacy of knowledge based on collective, grounded practices, rather than strict adherence to protocols drawn only from scientific models, this comprehensive, illustrated guide produces a sound argument for establishing a new paradigm for legitimizing research quality. Landscape Architecture Research presents: Case studies that show how the range of presented research strategies have been successfully used in practice New perspective on the relationship between theory, research, practice, and critique, a relationship that is specific to landscape architecture Detailed coverage of the ways that new knowledge is produced through research activities and practical innovations in landscape architecture The first and only book on this topic of growing importance in landscape architecture, Landscape Architecture Research keeps professionals and students in step with the latest developments in landscape architecture, and delivers a dynamic and flexible game plan for verifying the integrity of their work.
Call Number: SB469.4 .D46 2011 Quinn Library
AJCU - Ask A Librarian Chat!
Staffed by Fordham and AJCU librarians.
Service is available 24/7
Chat is not available on the following holidays:
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, and Independence Day.
Fordham Reference Text
Text your question to
Choose this option for short, simple questions
Available only when the library is open
160 character max for questions
320 character max for answers
Email us: email@example.com
Most questions answered within 2 business days.
Lincoln Center Reference: 212-636-6050
Rose Hill Reference: 718-817-3586
Westchester Reference: 914-367-3061
Books on Research & Writing
Writing and Presenting Research by This accessible and wide-ranging book is an invaluable introductory guide through the choices to be made when deciding how to report research. Writing and Presenting Research covers research written as theses and dissertations; chapters, books, reports and articles in academic, professional or general media such as newspapers; and also reviews the options for presenting research orally as lectures, keynotes, conference papers and even TV game shows. These forms of reporting research have well-established conventions for their formats, but they also have growing numbers of alternative possibilities. This has generated debate about what is, or is not, acceptable, and the aim of this book is to make this debate more manageable for those wanting to assess which of the conventional or alternative possibilities on offer is most appropriate for reporting their current research. Arranged in easily followed sections enlivened with checklists, style variations, examples and reflection points, Writing and Presenting Research has relevance to the social sciences, arts, humanities, natural and applied sciences and law and is an invaluable reference tool for new and experienced researchers alike.SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2006-06-29
Developing Research Proposals by Writing a research proposal is one of the most important tasks facing academics, researchers and postgraduate students. Yet there is a good deal of misinformation and a great lack of guidance about what constitutes a good research proposal and what can be done to maximise one′s chances of writing a successful research proposal. Denicolo and Becker recognise the importance of developing an effective research proposal for gaining either a place on a research degree programme or funding to support research projects and set out to explore the main factors that that proposal writers need to attend to in developing successful proposals of their own. Developing Research Proposals will help readers to understand the context within which their proposal will be read, what the reviewers are looking for and will be influenced by, while also supporting the development of relevant skills through advice and practical activities. This book: Explores the nature and purpose of different kinds of proposals Focuses on the actual research proposed Discusses how best to carry out and structure the literature review Examines the posing and phrasing of research questions and hypotheses Looks at how methods and methodology should be handled in a proposal Discusses the crucial issues of planning, strategy and timing in developing targeted proposals Denicolo and Becker draw together the key elements in the process of preparing and submitting a proposal and concludes with advice on responding to the results, successful or not, and their relevance to future proposals. The Success in Research series, from Cindy Becker and Pam Denicolo, provides short, authoritative and accessible guides on key areas of professional and research development. Avoiding jargon and cutting to the chase of what you really need to know, these practical and supportive books cover a range of areas from presenting research to achieving impact, and from publishing journal articles to developing proposals. They are essential reading for any student or researcher interested in developing their skills and broadening their professional and methodological knowledge in an academic context.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2012-03-05
Architectural Research Methods in Print at Fordham
Architectural Research Methods by ARCHITECTURAL RESEARCH METHODS ARCHITECTURE/GENERAL A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO RESEARCH FOR ARCHITECTS AND DESIGNERS--NOW UPDATED AND EXPANDED! From searching for the best glass to prevent glare to determining how clients might react to the color choice for restaurant walls, research is a crucial tool that architects must master in order to effectively address the technical, aesthetic, and behavioral issues that arise in their work. This book's unique coverage of research methods is specifically targeted to help professional designers and researchers better conduct and understand research. Part I explores basic research issues and concepts, and includes chapters on relating theory to method and design to research. Part II gives a comprehensive treatment of specific strategies for investigating built forms. In all, the book covers seven types of research, including historical, qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation, logical argumentation, and case studies and mixed methods. Features new to this edition include: Strategies for investigation, practical examples, and resources for additional information A look at current trends and innovations in research Coverage of design studio-based research that shows how strategies described in the book can be employed in real life A discussion of digital media and online research New and updated examples of research studies A new chapter on the relationship between design and research Architectural Research Methods is an essential reference for architecture students and researchers as well as architects, interior designers, landscape architects, and building product manufacturers.
Call Number: NA 2000.G76 2013 Quinn Library
Research Methods for Architecture by While fundamentally a design discipline, architectural education requires an element of history and theory, grouped under the term "research." However, many students struggle with this part of their course. This practical handbook provides the necessary grounding in this subject, addressing essential questions about what research in architecture can be. The first part of the book is a general guide to the fundamentals of how to do research, from assembling a literature review to conducting an interview. The second section presents a selection of case studies dealing with such topics as environmental psychology, the politics of space, ethnographic research, and mapping. The range of methods explored illustrates the variety of possible approaches, with authoritative guidance on how best to deploy a research framework.
Call Number: NA 2000.L83 2016 Quinn Library; also eBook
Demystifying Architectural Research by This practical, hands on introduction guides you through the basics of undertaking research in day-to-day architectural practice helping you to exploit the growing opportunities on offer. It explores how developing a research specialism can improve the quality of your projects, help to define your brand and generate new channels of revenue with innovative services for clients. The text is divided into four sections focussing on different types of Architecture Research Practice; commercial, cultural, social and technology. Each section includes a series of inspiring case studies written by practitioners themselves on the way in which research benefits their business as well as an essay by an expert which sets these projects in their methodological context. In this way the book highlights the broad spectrum of research being undertaken and the practical implications for the practice and their projects. This is designed for architects and practices who want to develop a clear specialism that adds brand value and will enable them to access new funding streams as well as students of architecture who are getting to grips with architectural research. This book will inspire cutting edge and innovative architectural practice that can clearly demonstrate its impact and value to non-architect clients.
Call Number: NA2000 .D46 2015 Quinn Library
Architectural Research Quarterly
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)