AIA Guide to New York City by
Hailed as "extraordinarily learned" (New York Times), "blithe in spirit and unerring in vision," (New York Magazine), and the "definitive record of New York's architectural heritage" (Municipal Art Society), Norval White and Elliot Willensky's book is an essential reference for everyone withan interest in architecture and those who simply want to know more about New York City.First published in 1968, the AIA Guide to New York City has long been the definitive guide to the city's architecture. Moving through all five boroughs, neighborhood by neighborhood, it offers the most complete overview of New York's significant places, past and present. The Fifth Edition continuesto include places of historical importance--including extensive coverage of the World Trade Center site--while also taking full account of the construction boom of the past 10 years, a boom that has given rise to an unprecedented number of new buildings by such architects as Frank Gehry, NormanFoster, and Renzo Piano. All of the buildings included in the Fourth Edition have been revisited and re-photographed and much of the commentary has been re-written, and coverage of the outer boroughs--particularly Brooklyn--has been expanded.Famed skyscrapers and historic landmarks are detailed, but so, too, are firehouses, parks, churches, parking garages, monuments, and bridges. Boasting more than 3000 new photographs, 100 enhanced maps, and thousands of short and spirited entries, the guide is arranged geographically by borough, witheach borough divided into sectors and then into neighborhood. Extensive commentaries describe the character of the divisions.Knowledgeable, playful, and beautifully illustrated, here is the ultimate guided tour of New York's architectural treasures.
Architecture by
Architecture offers a thorough introduction to the entire field of architecture, outlining the steps that arenormally taken in becoming a qualified architect, from initial education right through to professional practice, as well as how to apply this architectural training in other fields. Complete with feature spreads on individual projects, Architecture's broad, up-to-date approach unites history, theory, and practice. Subjects covered include how to develop a program with a client; taking an idea from brief to project; types of visual presentation including drawings, models, and computer renderings; project planning andmanagement; the diverse roles within a company; and the future of architectural practice. This book is a must for anyone considering taking an architecture course or just beginning one.
Building with Earth by
For a number of years, the healthy and environment-friendly building material earth, in common use for thousands of years, has been enjoying increasing popularity, including in industrialized nations. In hot dry and temperate climate zones, earth offers numerous advantages over other materials. Its particular texture and composition also holds great aesthetic appeal. The second and revised edition of this handbook offers a practical systematic overview of the many uses of earth and techniques for processing it. Its properties and physical characteristics are described in informed and knowledgeable detail. The author's presentation reflects the rich and varied experiences gained over thirty years of building earth structures all over the world. Numerous photographs of construction sites and drawings show the concrete execution of earth architecture. Prof. Dr. Gernot Minke is a professor at Universität Kassel, where he leads the Forschungslabor für Experimentelles Bauen. He has long concerned himself with developments in ecological building, and he has dealt with the building material clay in theory and practice since 1977. His book Building with Straw was also published by Birkhäuser.
Twenty-Five Buildings Every Architect Should Understand by
Twenty-Five Buildings Every Architect Should Understand is an essential companion to Simon Unwin's Analysing Architecture, and part of the trilogy which also includes his Exercises in Architecture: Learning to Think as an Architect. Together the three books offer an introduction to the workings of architecture providing for the three aspects of learning: theory, examples and practice. Twenty-Five Buildings focusses on analysing examples using the methodology offered by Analysing Architecture, which operates primarily through the medium of drawing. In this second edition five further buildings have been added to the original twenty from an even wider geographical area, which now includes the USA, France, Italy, Mexico, Switzerland, Spain, Finland, Germany, Australia, Norway, Sweden, India and Japan.　 The underlying theme of Twenty-Five Buildings Every Architect Should Understand is the relationship of architecture to the human being, how it frames our lives and orchestrates our experiences; how it can help us make sense of the world and contribute to our senses of identity and place. Exploring these dimensions through a wide range of case studies that illustrate the rich diversity of twentieth and twenty-first century architecture, this book is essential reading for every architect.
American Architecture by
Since the Spanish established their first settlement in St. Augustine, Florida, in 1565, America has been an architectural melting pot, reflecting the contributions of every immigrant group that brought its traditions across the sea and adapted them to the places where they settled. The rich diversity of this country's architecture is reflected in the nearly 200 styles, types, and modes of American architecture that are identified in these pages--more than can be found in any other book. Over 2,500 definitions and nearly 1,000 illustrations describe construction materials and techniques, landscape elements, decorative terms, and practical devices, from precolonial times to the present, and from indigenous dwellings to deconstructivist structures. Wide-ranging and completely accessible, this book is enriched with intriguing historical and biographical treasures. Students of architecture, architectural historians, preservationists, curators, and general readers, whether architecture buffs or simply curious about the world around them, will find it pleasurable, informative, and sometimes surprising.
Architecture: movements and trends from the 19th century to the present by
The leading movements, major figures, works, and ideas that shaped the architecture of the twentieth century and the first decade of the new millennium, one of the richest and most complex periods in human history. This volume offers a 360-degree review of the architectural developments of the twentieth century, tracing the best-known groups and movements that played a significant role in the rise and evolution of modern trends in the discipline.
American Architecture: a history Second edition by
More than fifteen years after the success of the first edition, this sweeping introduction to the history of architecture in the United States is now a fully revised guide to the major developments that shaped the environment from the first Americans to the present, from the everyday vernacular to the high style of aspiration. Eleven chronologically organized chapters chart the social, cultural, and political forces that shaped the growth and development of American towns, cities, and suburbs, while providing full description, analysis, and interpretation of buildings and their architects.
How to Read Modern Buildings by
Small enough to fit in a pocket yet serious enough to provide real answers, this is the ultimate field guide to understanding modern architecture. This eighth entry in Rizzoli's popular How to Read... series is a one-stop guide to understanding the world's iconic modern buildings: an indispensable pocket-sized guide to the architecture of the modern era.
Nordic Classicism : Scandinavian architecture 1910-1930 by 
The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture by
The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture presents a comprehensive global survey of the most outstanding works of contemporary architecture from around the world to be completed in the last five years. Organized geographically and illustrated with global, regional and sub-regional maps locating each individual building, this monumental tome illustrates more than 1,000 completed buildings and includes some of the most influential projects worldwide as well as many lesser-known buildings. Sections on World Data, Building Data and Architect's Biographies paint a detailed picture of the influences on contemporary architecture today. Every building type is covered - from the largest publicly-funded art museums and airports to private houses - and each project is illustrated with colour photographs, line drawings and an analytical text. Eminent architectural critics, curators, journalists and practitioners from all parts of the globe nominate what they consider to be the most outstanding works of contemporary architecture in their regions and beyond. The resulting 1,050 buildings confirm the far-reaching influence of well-known and respected international practitioners such as Jean Nouvel, Tadao Ando, Renzo Piano, Sir Norman Foster, Rem Koolhaas and Herzog & De Meuron, as well as introducing a host of lesser-known architects whose work provides an illuminating point of comparison with their famous counterparts. This magnificent book provides a unique opportunity to examine contemporary architecture as an evolving global phenomenon with all the cross-cultural influences this suggests, while illustrating the powerful diversity that is generated by climate (from the Arctic circle to the African deserts), culture (from the technologically advanced secularism of western Europe to traditional rural communities) and economics (from the wealthy post-industrial mega-economies to some of the most economically challenged countries of the developing world). The colossal volume is divided into six geographical regions with meticulous maps in each section, providing geographical orientation and an understanding of where contemporary architecture is being commissioned, designed and built. Its composition, scale, range and depth are truly unprecedented. The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture is essential reading for all those interested in gaining a true understanding of where the best contemporary architecture is located in the world.
Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World by
The first world atlas ever compiled on vernacular architecture, this comprehensive work illustrates the variety and ingenuity of the world's vernacular building traditions from a multi-disciplinary, cross-cultural and comparative approach, using over sixty world and regional maps. Mapping such diverse aspects as materials and resources, technologies, structural systems, symbolism, forms and service systems on a cross-cultural and comparative basis, the Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World reveals the distribution, diversity and relationships of the world's vernacular building traditions. Indicating geographical patterns, developments, lacunae and anomalies, it gives rise to new insights and understandings, stimulating new hypotheses, questions and research efforts. Augmenting the award-winning Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, the Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World constitutes a unique and unparalleled resource for anyone involved in the growing field of vernacular architecture studies, including architects, geographers, art historians, planners, folklorists, conservationists, builders, and anthropologists as well as being of use to all those working in the fields of heritage conservation, architecture, regeneration, energy efficient building, resources management, development and sustainability.
Modern Architecture A-Z by
Unlike most architecture encyclopedias, which tend to concentrate more on buildings and floor plans than on their designers, this tome puts the architects in the spotlight, profiling individuals so that readers can get a clear overview of their bodies of work. With more than 270 entries, the book covers not only architects but also groups, movements, and styles from the 19th to the 21st century. Each architect's entry features a portrait and short biography as well as a description of important works, historical context, and general approach. The lavish illustrations include examples of the best architectural photography in the modern era. The selected works in this two-volume edition form an overview of the modern movement, providing a context for modern architecture in today's world. Modern Architecture A-Z is a comprehensive resource that no architecture professional, fan, or student should be without.
Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats by
Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats presents more than 200 achievements in architecture and structural engineering in all the inhabited continents, from prehistory to the present. An architect once described the built environment as "the manifestation of the human spirit in stone, wood, and steel." In this new volume, readers can explore the most innovative and magnificent architectural expressions of the human spirit, from pre-history to the present, from all parts of the world. Readers can visit the Acropolis and Chartres cathedral, along with less familiar places like the ruins of Great Zimbabwe, once the greatest city in sub-Saharan Africa, and China's 71 meter high, 1,200 year old Grand Buddha, carved from stone. They'll learn the secrets behind audacious engineering feats like the Panama Canal, the U.S. interstate highway system, and the Deltaworks in the Netherlands. They will discover that many of these awe-inspiring projects were not the work of trained architects and engineers, but of "underdeveloped" communities, where unified will, tight social organization, and shared commitment to a spiritual ideal were more important than the inventions of the Industrial Age. 200+ A-Z, fully cross-referenced entries on fascinating structures such as Angkor Wat, a Cambodian temple complex that remains the largest religious monument ever constructed A wealth of illustrations covering diverse topics such as dams, agrarian terracing, cathedrals, temples, bridges, monuments, palaces, skyscrapers, aqueducts, and highway systems Numerous photographs of world famous structures such as the Taj Mahal and the Pont du Gard, and lesser known wonders such as Nazca Lines in Peru depicting a 300 foot long monkey A glossary of explanations for many architectural and engineering terms used around the globe
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture by
For more information including the introduction, a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample pages and more, visit the Encyclope dia of 20th Century Architecture website. Focusing on architecture from all regions of the world, this three-volume set profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. Unlike existing works, this encyclopedia examines the complexities of rapidly changing global conditions that have dispersed modern architectural types, movements, styles, and building practices across traditional geographic and cultural boundaries.
Search the Fordham Library catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses. Go to the Fordham Library website for Advanced Searching in the Fordham Library catalog (under "Catalogs & Collections").
https://cameron.libguides.com/ClassificationSystems/LCC
WorldCat is the global catalog of library collections containing over 46 million records from libraries in over 65 countries. You can make an InterLibrary Loan request directly from the WorldCat entry for material that Fordham does not own.
Google Books contains over 15 millions scanned books. Books can be viewed in 1 of 4 ways depending on their status: full text pdf for books out of copyright or with publisher's permission; limited preview of pages (sometimes quite extensive); snippet (a few sentences that include your search terms); or no preview. Bibliographic information is provided for each book including links to reviews, author info, web references, and related books.
Use Advanced Search for best results. Try it!
Archispeak : an illustrated guide to architectural terms by
Widely used in architectural circles in the heat of discussion, the recurrent use of particular words and terms has evolved into a language of design jargon. Commonly found in architectural literature and journalism, in critical design debate and especially in student project reviews, Archispeak can seem insular and perplexing to others and -- particularly to the new architectural student -- often incomprehensible. There is a need to translate architectural design concepts into spoken and written commentary -- each word in use embodying a precise and universally accepted architectural meaning. If we explore the vocabulary of this language we gain insight into good design practice and into collective understanding of what constitutes a refined architecture. This unique illustrated guide will help students understand the nuances of this specialized language and help them in communicating their own design ideas.
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A classic since 1975, the Dictionary of Architecture and Construction is one of the most trusted resources in the AEC community. The Fourth Edition features nearly 25,000 definitions and 2,500 illustrations, making it the most comprehensive dictionary in the industry Updated and expanded, this Fourth Edition of the most trusted reference in architecture offers the most comprehensive coverage of architectural and construction terms available. This classic dictionary now features nearly 25,000 definitions (including 2,800 new terms), 2,500 illustrations (including 200 new illustrations), and maintains its extraordinary visual appeal and easy-to-read page design.Prepared by a renowned architectural editor in association with expert contributors and incorporating the work of many standards groups, the book presents clear, concise definitions of terms in nearly 80 working areas. The Fourth Edition covers new industry terms which have emerged due to changes in engineering and building technologies, organizations, materials, and legal developments, and has been expanded to include more historic architectural styles. New terms include: Legal Architectural Barriers Act Wheelchair Accessible Materials Fibrous Concrete Latex Mortar Polymer-Based Stucco Concrete Compliance Conformity Refractory Mortar Organizations Building Research Establishment (formerly Building Research Station) of Great Britain ASTM Historic Architectural Styles Anglo-Palladianism French Victorian Isabellino Mudajar Mozarabic Neo-Rococo
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture by
The classic, bestselling reference on architecture now revised and expanded! An essential one-volume reference of architectural topics using Francis D.K. Ching's signature presentation. It is the only dictionary that provides concise, accurate definitions illustrated with finely detailed, hand-rendered drawings. From Arch to Wood, every concept, technology, material and detail important to architects and designers are presented in Ching's unique style. Combining text and drawing, each term is given a minimum double-page spread on large format trim size, so that the term can be comprehensively explored, graphically showing relations between concepts and sub-terms A comprehensive index permits the reader to locate any important word in the text. This long-awaited revision brings the latest concepts and technology of 21st century architecture, design and construction to this classic reference work It is sure to be by the side of and used by any serious architect or designer, students of architecture, interior designers, and those in construction.
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture by
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture constitutes a complete revision and expansion -- with the addition of the increasingly popular subject of landscape architecture -- of a work that has long been recognized as the standard in its field. Entirely reset and reillustrated, this edition includes many new entries on American architects and architecture. Highly readable, thoroughly cross-referenced, and with bibliographies for further reading, this is an essential reference for architects, students of architecture, and general readers with an interest in the field.
Encyclopaedia of Architectural Terms by
The study of architecture requires not only an understanding of the history of buildings, but also knowledge of the correct terminology that is used to describe them. The "Encyclopaedia of Architectural Terms" provides a comprehensive, clearly written, practical guide to the terminology used in the various aspects of architecture and building. It contains over 3500 terms offering definitions of styles, the components of buildings, materials, the various parts of orders and architectural details.
Frank Lloyd Wright - Unpacking the Archive by
Published in conjunction with a major exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, this catalogue reveals new perspectives on the work of Frank Lloyd Wright, a designer so prolific and familiar as to nearly preclude critical reexamination. Structured as a series of inquiries into the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archives, the book is a collection of scholarly explorations rather than an attempt to construct a master narrative.
Workflows by
Workflows are being rethought and remodelled across the architecture, engineering and construction (AEC) spectrum. The synthesis of building information modelling (BIM) platforms with digital simulation techniques and increasing access to data, charting building performance, is allowing architects to engage in the generation of new workflows across multidisciplinary teams.
Becoming an Architect in Renaissance Italy by 
Mastering Autodesk Revit Architecture 2015 by
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)
