Skip to main content

Architecture & Urban Design: Building Science

The Architecture & Urban Design Research Guide will assist researchers interested in exploring related topics within the field of architecture.

Online Resources - Building Materials

·         ArCAT

Includes 10,500 manufacturer listings by alpha or CSI section, 7000 BIM Models, 900 specs all in the CSI 3 part format, 300 SpecWizards for automated spec writing and 7,000 CAD Details. Free to use and no registration required.

·         ARCHTONIC

Find the very best in products, brands, retailers, expertise and inspiration for architecture and design.

·         The Blue Book Building & Construction Network

Search for U.S. contractors, subcontractors, suppliers, and manufacturers by geographic region.

·         BPM Select

Search for building products by keyword or by CSI Classification

·         Building Green 

Explore green products, case studies, and more. Includes links to Environmental Building News, the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpecdirectory of products, and LEEDuser web tool.

·         Building Technology Heritage Library

The Building Technology Heritage Library (BTHL) is primarily a collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides.

·         Materia

Materia is a knowledge centre for developments and innovations in materials, and their applications for architecture and design. Materia includes a search engine to their knowledge bank of materials.

·         Smart Building Index

In-depth information on commercial building products - including technical data, sourcing, cost data, project use examples, and downloadable specs, CAD and BIM objects.

·         Sweet's Network

Search for building product information and manufacturers by keyword or Masterformat. Fast-track design, specifications, and document creation with downloadable, insertable product information.

·         ThomasNet.com

Locate manufacturers, suppliers, and source products. Includes downloadable 2D and 3D CAD models from leading manufacturers.

·        

 

Some reading about building materials at Fordham Library

Sustainable Architecture

Image result for sustainable architecture

https://image.slidesharecdn.com/sustainablearchitecture9703-090603190403-phpapp02/95/sustainable-architecture-ppt-2-728.jpg?cb=1244056604  (retrieved: 10/16/17)

Organizations & Associations - Design/Sustainability

  1. ACEEE - American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy - a non-profit organization “that acts as a catalyst to advance energy efficiency policies, programs, technologies, investments, and behaviors." Resources include Energy Efficient Links and a robust Glossary.
  2. ADPSR - Architects Designers Planners for Social Responsibility - A national non-profit organization of architects, designers, planners and related professionals. Includes upcoming Northern California events and PDF versions of past presentations.
  3. American Solar Energy Society (ASES) - An association of solar professionals, advocates and enthusiasts based in the United States. With Solar Home Basics guides and excerpts from the magazine Solar Today.
  4. Association for Environment Conscious Building - AECB brings together builders, architects, designers, manufacturers, housing associations and local authorities, to promote excellence in sustainable design and construction, rather than gimmicks and green accounting tricks. Resources include a Member Services Directory, a Library of conference proceedings, and information about Carbon Lite training and courses.
  5. Build It Green - A membership-supported Bay Area nonprofit whose mission is to promote healthy, energy- and resource-efficient building practices in California through outreach and education. Tools and resources include directories of green products, professionals, and design guidelines.
  6. BuildingGreen - UCB Only. Includes information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve environmental performance of buildings. Includes: Environmental Building News and GreenSpec Product directory.
  7. California Energy Commission - contains links to resources.
  8. Center for Livable Communities - includes the Ahwahnee Principles. The Local Government Commission (LGC) is an organization of elected officials from California and other states. In 1991, the LGC developed the Ahwahnee Principles. In 1997 the LGC developed the Ahwahnee Principles for Smart Economic Development . The Center for Livable Communities helps local governments and community leaders be proactive in their land use and transportation planning, and adopt programs and policies that lead to livable and resource-efficient land use patterns. The Center is a partner in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Smart Growth Network.
  9. The Cohousing Association of the United States - Cohousing communities balance home ownership with shared common facilities. Includes links to international and national projects, development issues, and news.
  10. Ecological Design InstituteVan Der Ryn Architects -- The Ecological Design Institute and Van der Ryn Architects create design solutions that link nature, culture and technology.
  11. EcoMall -- Site map with links, newsletters, construction products, investments etc.
  12. Global Green USA -- US affiliate of Green Cross International. R.E.S.C.U.E. Resource Efficiency & Sustainable Communities for the Urban Environment. Works to create a global value shift toward a sustainable future. Promotes the cleanup and reuse of military facilities, promoting the safe and environmentally responsible destruction of chemical weapons, the "greening" of affordable housing, and the prevention of international natural resource-based conflicts.
  13. Greener Buildings -- is a free resource for environmentally responsible building development. Includes building design, construction, and operation, provides tools, action steps, and other resources that improve buildings' environmental performance reducing costs and negative health impacts.
  14. Healthy Building Network -- an organization whose mission is to "Transform the market for building materials to advance the best environmental, health and social practices".
  15. iGreenBuild.com -- provides building professionals and concerned citizens with information about environmentally responsible building. Includes B.I.P.E.R., Building Industry Professionals For Environmental Responsibility, monthly e-Newsletter.Articles about sustainable building design for commercial and residential buildings. Green products, product reviews and samples.
  16. New Buildings Institute (NBI) -- a nonprofit organization working to improve the energy performance of commercial buildings.
  17. Northern California Solar Energy Association (NCSEA) -- a chapter of the ASES
  18. Northwest Ecobuilding Guild -- The Northwest EcoBuilding Guild is an association of builders, designers, homeowners, trades people, manufacturers, suppliers and others interested in ecologically sustainable building
  19. O2 -- International network of designers, links to resources and projects.
  20. Rocky Mountain Institute -- A nonprofit research and educational foundation, the Institute creates, and helps individuals find new techniques for resource efficiency.
  21. SmartGrowth -- part of the Sustainable Communities Network. The Smart Growth Network coalitions to encourage metropolitan development that is environmentally smart, fiscally smart, economically and socially smart.
  22. Solar Living Center - The Solar Living Institute -- 12-acre demonstration center located in Hopland, California, powered entirely by working renewable energy systems, has a 5,000 sq. foot strawbale building with innovative passive solar design and the creative use of recycled materials.
  23. Sustainable Buildings Industry Council. -- SBIC is an independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to advance the design, affordability, energy performance, and environmental soundness of America's buildings.
  24. Sustainable Business -- Business directory, resources, job listings etc.
  25. Sustainable Sources -- available through Greenbuilder.com. Sustainable Sources provides resources that offer practical options to the conventional methods of building, community, travel, and more..
  26. Wallace Stegner Environmental Center, San Francisco Public Library -- Links to environmental directories, Eco-Links, Activism, collections and calendar.

Help with searching for topics related to building materials

Some Subject Headings to use when attempting to locate construction material sources:

Air-supported structures
Architecture and climate
Architecture and energy conservation
Architecture and solar radiation
Buildings --Energy conservation
Buildings --Environmental engineering
Buildings --Thermal properties
Cable structures
Ceilings
Curtain walls
Dwellings --Energy conservation
Exterior Walls
Facades
Facades --Design and Construction
Flat roofs
Floors
Green roofs
Interior Walls
Lightweight construction
Retractable roofs
Roofs --Design and Construction
Roofs, Fabric
Roofs, Shells
Roofs, Suspension
Shells (Engineering)
Space frame structures
Sustainable architecture
Sustainable buildings --Design and construction
Sustainable construction
Sustainable design
Structural frames
Tensile architecture
Walls--Design and Construction
Windows

Relevant Subject Headings for searching 'Sustainable Architecture'

Search the Fordham Library Catalog under the following Subject Headings to locate additional sources:

Architecture and climate.
Architecture and energy conservation.
Architecture and energy conservation --United States.
Architecture --Environmental aspects.
Building --Environmental aspects.
Buildings --Energy conservation.
City planning --Environmental aspects.
Ecological houses.
Ecological landscape design.
Energy consumption --Environmental aspects.
Housing --Energy conservation.
Materials --Environmental aspects.
New towns --Environmental aspects.
Planned communities --Environmental aspects.
Sustainable architecture.
Sustainable buildings --Design and construction.
Sustainable construction.
Sustainable design.
Sustainable development--Environmental aspects.
Sustainable living.
Sustainable urban development.
Urban density.

E-Journal "Materials for Renewable and Sustainable Energy"

Selected reading on Sustainable Architecture

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)