Research Guides @ Fordham: Architecture: Building Construction

WHOLE BUILDING DESIGN - TECHNIQUES AND TECHNOLOGIES

NOTE: The WBDG Federal Facility Criteria section is an extensive electronic library of construction guide specifications, manuals, standards and many other essential criteria documents. Published and updated continuously, this library contains the complete unabridged, approved, current electronic equivalents of over 5,000 documents direct from participating federal agencies. The WBDG Federal Facility Criteria section is the most effective tool available for finding and using current, approved U.S. construction criteria.

Link to WBDG

Green Construction

International Green Construction Code

Construction Market Data

CMD - ConsructConnect Co.

Construction Industry Data & Analytics

Link to Dodge site

Building Products Info...

SWEETS - Division of McGraw Hill Construction

Link to Sweets site

The Building 'Trades'

Link to ABC

Building Trade Unions of New York State

Link to NYS Building Trade Council

Construction - building 'the design'

Image reproduced from Clemson University Construction Science & Management LibGuide (retrieved: 10/12/17)

Websites for the Construction & Building Industries

Buildipedia

Buildipedia covers the entire world of design and construction with an online network of high-definition videos, interviews, photo galleries, and case studies. A vast Knowledgebase of building materials and systems accepts contributions from all users. And a burgeoning social network provides a place for all Buildipedia users to ask questions, share best practices, and showcase their own design, home-improvement, and other construction projects.

Engineering Motion

Engineering Motion offers a variety of videos that feature engineering, manufacturing technology.

Material Explorer

Material Explorer is a free database of building materials. This search engine enables users to search for building material by name, or by a variety of attributes, including type, translucence, hardness, acoustics, chemical resistance, weight, "odeur," and much more.

THOMASNET

THOMASNET is an industrial search engine of products, services, and their suppliers. Line-item product details and CAD drawings are available.

U.S. Census Data on Construction

The U.S. Census Bureau collects data and releases statistics on new residential construction and sales, manufactured housing, construction spending, workforce indicators, business statistics, and price indices.

RCAT - Building Materials

Building product information for the architectural and spec writing communities.

Architonic: the independent resource for architecture and design

Click on the Materials link for a sampling and access to new materials.

The A to Z of Materials

Materials information source for the engineering and design community.

Building Materials - Sweets

The Sweets directory of building product information can be searched by manufacturer, product, or product type.

CMD (formerly Reed Construction Data)

CMD provides commercial construction information. Browse product information and search construction data, news, and building codes. Some parts of the site require free registration.

International Molybdenum Association: Architectural Design Resources for Stainless Steel

Case studies in stainless steel uses in architecture published by the Int'l Molybdenum Association.

Materia

Materia, based in the Netherlands, is a global network of innovative materials.

Materials Lab, UT Austin

This is a web directory of materials and building products websites created by a student at UT-Austin School of Architecture.

Materials Library at Institute of Making

Descriptions and images of materials curated by the Institute of Making in London.

Sustainable Sources - Green Building Materials

Listing of typical building materials with discussion about aspects of sustainability.

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers

A searchable online catalog of industrial products and services.

Construction & Building Podcasts

ConTechTrio Podcast
Topics include the latest hardware, software, devices, apps and the best strategies for applying them on construction projects.
Construction Leading Edge Podcast
Covers topics from leadership to construction technology. It helps provide the tools and resources to grow leadership skills, business and income.
Contracting Coachcast
This daily podcast is hosted by Tony Booth and runs about 15 minutes. It covers a variety of topics in the construction industry, including budgets, recruiting and leadership.
Pro Construction Guide Podcast
This weekly podcast, courtesy of ProConstructionGuide.com and hosted by John Gordon and Dave Dovell, features tips to save you time and money on the job site, interviews with manufacturers on industry trends and the latest tools and products.
Construction Industry Podcast
Features interviews with top industry professionals and covered topics such as emotional intelligence, lean construction, public relations, BIM and more.

Readings in the Fordham Library Collection on Construction for Architects

Interior Construction and Detailing for Designers and Architects by David K. Ballast
Call Number: TH2025 .B35 1994 QuinnX Oversize
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
Interior Graphic Standards by Maryrose McGowan (Editor-In-Chief); Kelsey Kruse With over 3000 illustrations, this book is the most complete and authoritative professional reference on interior construction available and is the definitive interior design reference that the industry has been waiting for
Call Number: TH2031 .M34 2003 Quinn Reference
Publication Date: 2003-05-21
Building Construction Illustrated by Francis D. K. Ching; Cassandra Adams Comprehensive and up-to-date- the classic visual guide to the basics of building construction
Call Number: TH146 .C52 2001 Quinn & Walsh Libraries
Publication Date: 2000-10-04
Building the Empire State by Carol Willis (Editor); Donald Friedman (Contribution by) Constructed in eleven months, the 1250-foot Empire State Building, the world's tallest skyscraper from 1931 to 1971, was a marvel of modern engineering. The frame rose more than a story a day; no comparable building since has matched that rate of ascent.
Call Number: F128.8.E465 B8 1998 Walsh Oversize Stacks
ISBN: 0393730301
Publication Date: 1998-07-17
Castle Builders by Malcolm James Baillie-Hislop In Castle Builders, Malcolm Hislop looks at the hugely popular subject of castles from the unusual perspective of design and construction. In this general introduction to the subject, we discover something of the personalities behind their creation - the architects and craftsmen - and, furthermore, the techniques they employed, and how style and technology was disseminated.
Call Number: NA7710 .H54 2016 Walsh Library
Publication Date: 2016-11-22
Sustainable Construction by Charles J. Kibert Reflecting the latest developments in the green building movement, and updated to include coverage of LEED 2009,Sustainable Construction: Green Building Design and Delivery, Second Edition guides construction and design professionals through the process of developing commercial and institutional high-performance green buildings in today's marketplace.
Call Number: TH880 .K53 2008 Walsh Library
Publication Date: 2007-10-19