Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Resources / Buildings research...
Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)
PCAD contains information regarding the buildings and designers of California, Oregon, and Washington. Related professionals such as landscape architects, interior designer, developers, and building contractors and their work are also included. Building records contain information about their creators (when possible) and includes historical and geographic information in addition to images when available. All citations included in building records are linked.
Search Chicago's Architecturally and Historically Significant Buildings, inventoried as part of the Chicago Historic Resources Survey.
CTBUH Tall Building Database - Skyscraper Project
The CTBUH Tall Building Database contains information on 10,000+ buildings – including height information, number of floors, function, structural material, location, professions involved, building images etc.
Google Maps - Indoor Maps
View and navigate floor plans of several commercial locations such as airports, department stores, malls, and more within Google Maps. Indoor Maps is only available in selected locations. Check availability at: Indoor Maps Availability
Iconic Houses Network
Architecturally significant homes from the 20th century which are open to the public as house museums.
Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey
The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes. Begun in 1933 the HABS/HAER/HALS collections now include more than 556,900 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 38,600 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.
National Register of Historic Places
The National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Philadelphia Architects and Buildings Database
The American Architects and Buildings database contains more than 263,896 projects and buildings, 23,789 architects, engineers and contractors, and over 126,022 images. This database focuses on the work of Penssylvania based architects but also contains a considerable collection of information on California buildings.
An authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. Contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 8,500 structures and places.
SkyscraperPage Global Cities & Buildings Database
A resource for skyscraper and urbanism enthusiasts, featuring skyscraper diagram illustrations, a world-wide buildings database, and skyscraper-themed discussion forums.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
Consult the "Construction and Real Estate" Documents section for catalogues from several companies dealing in prefab houses, such as The Aladdin Company, as well as catalogues selling individual elements of houses, such as ceilings, radiators and bathroom furniture.
NYC Landmark Preservation Commission
The Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) is the largest municipal preservation agency in the nation. It is responsible for protecting New York City's architecturally, historically, and culturally significant buildings and sites by granting them landmark or historic district status, and regulating them after designation.
NYC Iconic buildings mapped...
In addition to NYC geographic location of iconic buildings found in 13 American cities with facts of interest about each structure.
Great Buildings and Structures in Architecture
Presented by Thought Co. Facts about important world buildings with links to information about theory, history and famous architects... plus interesting looks at cities, styles and designers.
When searching for "buildings"
Most architecture books are not dedicated to a single building. The building you are researching may be discussed in books about the building's:
- time period
- location such as city or country
- building type
Search the Fordham Library Catalog in order to locate books. Searching Tips:
- If you know the name of the architect or firm that designed the building, use keyword searching in the Library Catalog for books under these names. Once you have the book in hand, refer to its index or table of contents to determine whether or not your building is mentioned.
- If the architect or firm is unknown, try searching under time period, style, place, or building type (i.e.: Architecture -- Romanesque)
To locate articles on your building, you will need to search an indexthat specializes in architectural subjects. The Avery Index is the most comprehensive index of this kind.
TIP: Also try searching Google Books for the name of your building, then search the Fordham Library Catalog for the titles of the books retrieved.
NYPL How to Research Buildings
Skyscrapers around the World
Architectural Digest "Most Anticipated Buildings 2020"
Welcome to NYC Skyline...
https://www.publicdomainpictures.net/pictures/170000/velka/statue-of-liberty-1462952329W7G.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
Empire State Building (image retrieved: 11/02/17)
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/17/New_York_-_Flatiron_Building_HDR.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
One World Trade Center
One_World_Trade_Center_May_2015.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
Queen of Art Deco
Pinterest https://ru.pinterest.com/pin/288652657337745964/ (retrieved: 10/17/17)
Saint Patrick's Cathedral Neo Gothic in NYC
David N. Dinkins Municipal Building
-_New_York_City.jpg/360px-Municipal_Building_-_New_York_City.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
Modern form & function...
Guggenheim Museum of Art
Metropolitan Museum of Art
https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/80/246896968_6dc95bda71_b.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
The Builders... Grand Central
Emery Roth, Walter Gropius and builder Erwin Wolfson
Walter Gropius by
Call Number: NA1088.G85 G52 1992 Quinn Library
Publication Date: 1992-05-19
Central Park West Luxury Apartments - Emery Roth & Sons
San Remo Apartment Building UWS / NYC
https://c1.staticflickr.com/2/1162/569504751_db11c019c7_b.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
New Design NYC
IAC Corp Headquarters - Gehry in Chelsea
https://c1.staticflickr.com/2/1312/1099588294_b70c813cbf_b.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
More Gehry in NYC
Frank Gehry in Wall Street
https://c1.staticflickr.com/7/6203/6044715806_b54cbc2786_b.jpg (retrieved: 10/17/17)
Hadid on the Highline
520 W 28th Street Condos
2019 Building of the year - It's a LIBRARY!
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)