Research Guides @ Fordham: Architecture: Internet Resources

Modern Architectural Design Images

More ARCHITECTURAL IMAGES Online

NOTE: For maps and aerial photographs:
Cartographic Resources: Maps, Atlases, GIS guide.

Architecture on Video (film archives)

New York Public Library - Architecture Research Online

NYPL Researching and Architectural Structure

Architectural History (Cambridge Core)

Link to AH Journal

Architectural & Design Online Resources

Wiley AD Resources
Architectural Design, also known as AD, is a UK-based architectural journal first launched in 1930 as Architectural Design and Construction. The journal is currently published by John Wiley & Sons, and is edited by Helen Castle since 2001.
Search pointer: To discern the term "architecture" for relevant documents a Boolean strategy is advised: For example: Wiley Online advanced search: term 1 "architecture," term 2 AND "building design," term 3 NOT "software systems."
CumInCad
CumInCAD is an open access cumulative index to papers about computer-aided architectural design from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, ECAADE, SIGRADI, CAAD Futures and others.

Building Green Website
A Website dedicated to informing the architecture, design, and building communities on strategies which utilize sustainable and healthy materials and construction methods.

International Journal of Design (via Design Journals)
The International Journal of Design is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal devoted to publishing research papers in all fields of design, including industrial design, visual communication design, interface design, animation and game design, architectural design, urban design, and other design related fields. It aims to provide an international forum for the exchange of ideas and findings from researchers across different cultures and encourages research on the impact of cultural factors on design theory and practice. It also seeks to promote the transfer of knowledge between professionals in academia and industry by emphasizing research in which results are of interest or applicable to design practices.

The Journal of the American Institute of Architects

Current information on Projects, Tech & Products, Practice, Culture & Criticism, Awards, and Continuing Ed in the AIA community.

Architect Magazine

AR offers a vast collection of articles and reviews, competitions and awards, films and podcasts, all focused on architecture.

Architectural Review Website

Architectural Histories is the international, blind peer-reviewed scholarly journal of the EAHN (European Architectural History Network) that creates a space where historically grounded research into all aspects of architecture and the built environment can be made public, consulted, and discussed. The journal is open to historical, historiographic, theoretical, and critical contributions that engage with architecture and the built environment from a historical perspective.

Link to the EAHN Open Access Journal

archINFORM is an online database about worldwide architects includes information on thousands of built and unrealized projects, emphasizing the architecture of the 20th century. Data for most entries includes name, address, keywords and information about further literature. Some entries include images, comments, links to other Websites or internal links.

Links to full text of articles from 67 open-access, peer-reviewed architecture journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals on Architecture

The RIBA Catalogue indexes articles from approximately 300 architecture journals from around the world, as well as books, drawings, photographs, manuscripts, audio-visual and other material in the British Architectural Library. Also includes a biographical database of British architects.

RIBA online (you can order via ILL!)

MITMassachusetts Institute of Technology

OCWOpen Course Ware

Monitor architecture courses on-line...

MIT Undergraduate course list with syllabus, readings, lecture notes, videos, and list of coarse materials...

Architects' Journal

UK based organization with broad based professional initiatives, news & opinion articles, events & competitions, "buildings" link to project designs, even a link to the AJ Library offering search capabilities supplying project details - drawings, costs, etc.

Link to AJ

WorldCat

WorldCat is the global catalog of library collections containing over 46 million records from libraries in over 65 countries. You can make an InterLibrary Loan request directly from the WorldCat entry for material that Fordham does not own.

Sample searches using Boolean modifiers

Digital Resources - Society of Architectural Historians

Link to Digital Archive

Places Journal - an essential and trusted resource on the future of architecture, landscape, and urbanism. Founded at MIT and Berkeley in 1983. Researchers at PJ have deep associations with leading design faculties around the world.

link to Places Journal

wikiHow to search the Internet - Tips on honing searches and determining the right search engine for that search

wikiHow - Internet searching

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes the full text of a wide array of scholarly literature across many disciplines. Use Advanced Search for more refined results.

Google Books

Google Books contains over 15 millions scanned books. Books can be viewed in 1 of 4 ways depending on their status: full text pdf for books out of copyright or with publisher's permission; limited preview of pages (sometimes quite extensive); snippet (a few sentences that include your search terms); or no preview. Bibliographic information is provided for each book including links to reviews, author info, web references, and related books.

Use Advanced Search for best results. Try it!

Architecture: Internet Resources