There are a number of ways to find readings available on the Fordham Library website at:https://www.fordham.edu/libraries
To find a specific e-journal, article, or book, go to the Fordham Library website, select E-Journals, then enter the desired title in the 'title begins with' search box to see if this particular work is available via the Fordham collection.
To search for journal articles in a database, go to the "Databases" link on the Library website and select 'Browse by Topic' or select from the A - Z listings for journal titles in your area of interest. After selecting a journal title use boolean search combinations to cull articles related to your topic of interest.
For multi-item searching (articles, books, media, etc.) use OneSearch, also found on the Library Home page.
Successful Research Projects by
A unique aspect of the book is the inclusion of exercises throughout the text to help develop and guide students through the specific actions required for doing effective research. The author′s twenty plus years of classroom experience richly informs the approach and the content of this hands-on research methods guide. Dr. Beins′ undergraduate students have presented over 100 papers and posters at research conferences and have won numerous awards for their research.
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology is a landmark and essential tool for any scholar within the social sciences.
Practice-based design research [electronic resource] by
The contributors address a range of models and approaches to practice-based research, consider relationships between industry and academia, researchers and designers, discuss initiatives to support students and faculty during the research process, and explore how students'experiences of undertaking practice-based research has impacted their future design and research practice.
Frontiers of architectural research [electronic resource]
Thinking Practice by
In the rapidly changing climate of the architectural profession, Thinking Practice presents an extraordinary examination of the increasingly dynamic relationships between academic research, teaching and practice. This book brings together a unique and diverse collection of writings by leading academics and theorists who are also practicing architects. Edited by Professor Nicolas Temple (Head of Architecture at University of Lincoln) and Dr Soumyen Bandyopadhyay (Liverpool School of Architecture), the book consists of ten essays under the headings: Reflective Practice; Cultural Geographies; and Dewelling, Gesture and Perception. Each contributor takes one of their own projects as a starting point, examining it in the context of their specialised field of research and approach to studio teaching.
Presenting projects varying significantly in scale and complexity, and in such diverse locations as Prague, Ghana, Portland USA, Wales, Bradford, London, Muscat and Quito, these case studies serve as critical frameworks in which issues of continuity between design thinking, teaching pedagogy and theoretical ideas are examined.
By exploring the interface between architectural practice, academic research and design teaching, Thinking Practice: Reflections on Architectural Research and Building Work provides a fascinating insight into a wide range of theoretical and philosophical ideas about the meaning of building in the twenty first century.
https://www.slideshare.net/ruggerolancia/gonzalez-longo-20131021dedicateonline (retrieved: 10/12/17)
| Boolean Operator AND |
 |
The shaded portion includes all the results for "cat AND dog." |
| Boolean Operator OR |
 |
The shaded portions include all the results for "cat OR dog." |
| Boolean Operator NOT |
 |
The shaded portion includes all the results for "cat NOT dog." |
Search ONESEARCH / LIBRARY CATALOG / DATABASES / ELECTRONIC JOURNALS
Reading Architecture and Culture by
Architecture displays the values involved in its inhabitation, construction, procurement and design. It traces the thinking of the individuals who have participated in it, their relationships, and their involvement in the cultures where they lived and worked. In this way, buildings, their details, and the documents used to make them, can be read closely for cultural insights. Introducing the idea of reading buildings as cultural artefacts, this book presents perceptive readings by eminent writers which demonstrate the power of this approach. The chapters show that close readings of architecture and its materials can test commonplace assumptions, help architects to appreciate the contexts in which they work, and indicate ways to think more astutely about design. The readings collected in this innovative and accessible book address buildings, specifications and photographs. They range in time from the fifteenth century - examining the only surviving drawing made by Leon Battista Alberti - to the recent past - projects completed by Norman Foster in 2006 and Herzog and De Meuron in 2008. They range geographically from France to Puerto Rico to Kazakhstan and they range in fame from buildings celebrated by critics to house extensions and motorway service areas. Taken together, these essays demonstrate important research methods which yield powerful insights for designers, critics and historians, and lessons for students.
Investigate Ask Tell Sense Build by
A profile of one of Europe's most exciting and innovative architecture practices, Denmark's 3XN. Key to their success has been the immense importance they place on investigating and interpreting the historical and cultural context of the site of each new project.
Re-scaling the environment [electronic resource] : new landscapes of design, 1960-1980 by
...new possibilities offered by technology and production, paved the way to large-scale processes and systems in architecture and urban design, which favored technocratic and utopian concepts. Increasingly, architects and planners saw themselves as designers of comprehensive infrastructure and mega-structures in a technology-focused world.
New Projects by
"This book, 'New Projects. Architecture' introduces the reader to all the latest tendencies in modern architecture and the design styles that are going to come to the forefront in the new millennium. The author offers a selection of the preeminent constructions all over the world: public spaces, transport infrastructure and even private homes. Captivating photos and detailed plans give you a fascinating insight into the architect's aims." "Some currents felt worldwide have made an impact on the design of these buildings. They are the fruit of the process of globalization that has taken architecture over during the eighties and nineties. Two generations of creators have been included in 'Recent Works. Architecture.'" "Among the buildings presented, all of them emblematic representatives of their style, are the Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur (Malasia) designed by Cesar Pelli, the Normandy Bridge conceived by the Frenchman Charles Levigne, and the Le Semaphore Auditorium, the inspiration of Christian Drevet." "Besides the conditioning factors of the surroundings, each architect reflects in their work a unique and personal vision which has been materialized into a beautiful building or an imposing structure." "Design whims have not reduced the functionality of the buildings. They are used as auditoriums, offices, restaurants, golf clubs, shopping malls and government offices. Many of them have changed the urban landscape of their cities, becoming visible examples of what the architecture of the future will be like. 'Recent Works. Architecture' has brought all these works together so that art and design lovers can contemplate the world's greatest construction projects."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)