Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture & Urban Design: Researching Architects

The Architecture & Urban Design Research Guide will assist researchers interested in exploring related topics within the field of architecture.

Architect Directories

Membership directories usually list contact information for architects or firms and might also include lists of projects, bibliographic references and more.

  • ArchitectFinder
  • AIA New York Online Database
  • California Architects Board, License Search for Architects
  • Find an Architect (RIBA Online Directories)
  • Directory of African American Architects
  • UIA: International Union of Architects

Biographical pointers...

To locate books about architects and design firms, search the Fordham Catalog using the architect's name or the firm's name as a subject.

Search the catalog using the following subject headings to locate additional biographical sources:

  • architects --biography
  • architects -- country/state of origin (i.e.: California) directories
  • architects -- interviews
  • architecture -- dictionaries
  • women architects -- country/state of origin
  • African American architects -- country/state of origin

To locate articles, consult the Avery Index

Some books in the Fordham Library Collection on Architects

Featured Architect - Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

Image result for mies vandero architect

https://demandware.edgesuite.net/aayc_prd/on/demandware.static/-

/Sites-dwr-storefront-catalog/default/dwe5422e2b/designer/h_mies-vanderrohe-ludwig.jpg

(retrieved: 10/13/17)

Featured Architect - Lord Norman Foster

Image result for norman foster

https://cdn1.pamono.com/l/m/2016/06/0000056514-1144x1144/norman-foster.jpg (retrieved: 10/13/17)

The complete portfolio of Norman Foster's work over the 25 years between 1964 and 1989 can be found in QuinnX Library's Oversize Stacks - NA997.F65 N67 1989, 4 volumes...

Featured Architect: Philip Johnson

Image result for phillip johnson

https://images.divisare.com/images/dpr_1.0,e_grayscale,f_auto,q_auto,

w_300/e_sharpen/e_auto_contrast/uwgtczexqfwjgzigslqc/philip-johnson.jpg 

(retrieved: 10/16/17)

Before Architects were Architects - Christopher Wren

Christopher Wren by Godfrey Kneller 1711.jpg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christopher_Wren (retrieved: 10/23/17)

Christopher Wren is one of the most highly acclaimed English architects in history.

In Wren's age, the profession of architect as understood today did not exist. Since the early years of the 17th century it was not unusual for well-educated young men (virtuosi) to take up architecture as a gentlemanly activity, a pursuit widely accepted as a branch of applied mathematics. This is implicit in the writings of Vitruvius and explicit in such 16th century authors as John Dee and Leonard Digges. When Wren was a student at Oxford, he became familiar with Vitruvius' De architectura and absorbed intuitively the fundamentals of architectural design. In English Medieval tradition, buildings had been constructed to the needs of the patron and the suggestions of building professionals, such as master carpenters or master bricklayers. (Quote via Wkipedia cited above)

Book: "Architects You Should Know"

Renowned Architects

Image result for famous architectsForty most famous architects of the 21st Centuty

https://www.archute.com/2015/08/03/40-famous-architects-of-the-21st-century/ (retrieved: 10/12/17)

Architect Databases

Designs by Woman Architects starting with the Lincoln Center Renovation - Diller Scofidio Renfro Architects

Juilliard / Alice Tully Hall @ Lincoln Center

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/c9/Lincoln_Center_Tully_Night.jpg/696px-Lincoln_Center_Tully_Night.jpg

(retrieved: 10/19/17)

Image result for zaha hadidArchitect:  Zaha Hadid   The Heydar Aliyev Center in Baku, Azerbaijan. By Robert Ghement/EPA/Corbis. 

 https://www.vanityfair.com/culture/2016/03/zaha-hadid-tribute  (retrieved: 10/16/17)

Architect: Carme Pinos - Vienna University of Economics and Business

https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/727/21100467168_3cf596402a_b.jpg  (retrieved: 10/16/17)

Architect: Farshid Moussavi -  FMA's winning proposal for the Jardins de Laronde Competition.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/1f/La_Folie_Divine_Montpellier_FMA.jpg (retrieved: 10/16/17)

Image result for odile decq projectsArchitect: Odile Decq      EDIFICIO H26 FIRENZE - ITALY

https://images.divisare.com/images/dpr_1.0,f_auto,q_auto,w_800/v1/project_images/440083/1592245833/studio-odile-decq-edificio-h26.jpg

(retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Han schroder

Architect: Han Schroder - The Rietveld Schroder House in Utrecht, Netherlands, designed by Gerrit Rietveld in 1924.  The home Han Schroder lived in with her mother, also a designer, which Han later restored and renovated.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Rietveld_Schr%C3%B6derhuis_HayKranen-7.JPG  (retrieved: 10/16/17)

 

Architect: Eileen Gray  - La Villa E-1027,1929 masterpiece on France's Côte d’Azur. The house heavily influenced the work of Le Corbusier...

https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2726/4461953951_5a643a5e57_z.jpg?zz=1 (retrieved: 10/16/17)

Architect: Julia Morgan         Hearst Castle - San Simeon, California

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c1/DSC27455%2C_Hearst_Castle%2C_San_Simeon%2C_California%2C_USA_%286433990325%29.jpg  (retrieved: 10/16/17)

Architect: Francine Houben  / Library Delft University - Netherlands

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francine_Houben#/media/File:Library_Delft_University_of_Technology_01.jpg (retrieved: 10/19/17)

Dynamic National Archive Collection

Some Renowned Women Architects

Image result for "Liz Diller"

https://www.google.com/search?q="Liz+Diller"

copy right "free to use" (retrieved: 06/25/2018)

Image result for Carme PinĂ³s

https://www.santacole.com/recursos/disenadores/imagenes/

Pinos_Carme_.jpg  (retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Zaha Hadid

https://cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/47962611/IraqiCulturalFest13_

ZahaHadid1-c-SimoneCecchetti.0.jpg (retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Julia Morgan

https://ww4.hdnux.com/photos/25/24/73/5590755/5/1024x1024.jpg

(retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Sheila Sri Prakash

https://buildotechindia.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Sheila-Sri-Prakash.jpg

(retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Farshid Moussavi

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d4/Farshid_

Moussavi.jpg (retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Julia Barfield

https://equilibriumnetworkgroup.files.wordpress.com/2016/03/julia-barfield.jpg (retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Odile Decq

https://static.dezeen.com/uploads/2016/03/odile-decq-portrait_dezeen_sqa.jpg (retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Beverly Loraine Greene

Senior Portrait c. 1935, Image 0003076 Courtesy of the University of Illinois Archives 

Image result for anne tyng

Image cited via NYT obit article by Robin Pogrebin - Jan. 7, 2012 with following credit: Anne Tyng with a geometric model called “City Tower” at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Philadelphia last January.Credit

Charles Fox/Philadelphia Inquirer

https://s3files.core77.com/blog/images/511436_33988_55200_

DXudlTRTw.jpg (retrieved: 10/13/17)

https://cs1cdn.haworth.com/sites/cassina.com/files/styles/scheda_designer

/public/content/designer/charlotte_perriand/charlotte_perriand.jpg?itok=M5i2pMsD (retrieved: 10/13/17)

https://avenue-road.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/560x560/

9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/g/r/gray_450.jpg 

(retrieved: 10/13/17)

More renowned women in Architecture

Portrait of Marion Mahony Griffin.
Courtesy Walter Burley Griffin Society Inc

From The Invisible in Architecture, Roemer van Toorn

Image result for Han schroder

https://spec.lib.vt.edu/IAWA/inventories/schroder/schroder2B.jpg

(retrieved: 10/13/17)

Image result for Lina Bo Bardi

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/pt/c/c8/442455-400x600-1.jpeg

(retrieved: 10/13/17)

Mecanoo Francine Houben FC IMG 5753 CV.jpg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francine_Houben (retrieved: 10/19/17)

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9d/Amale_Andraos.jpg (retrieved: 10/23/17)

https://cdn.stylepark.com/designers/s/sejima-kazuyo/kazuyo-sejima.jpg (retrieved: 10/23/17)

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)