Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Landscape Architecture Networking
American Society of Landscape Architects
ASLA site offers insights into the field, with helpful information for those considering the study and practice of landscape architecture.
The Landscape Architecture Foundation
LAF provides access to research, scholarship, and leadership initiates toward preserving and enhancing the environment.
New York Botanical Garden
NYBG, a NYC institution, where landscape design, along with plant research and conservation are practiced, and community participation welcome.
UNESCO - IFLA World
Website for International Federation of Landscape Architects - News, Jobs, Awards, Committees, Education...
The Landscape Institute (LI) is the chartered body for the landscape profession. It is an educational charity that promotes the art and science of landscape practice.
The LI’s aim, through the work of its members is to protect, conserve and enhance the natural and built environment for the public benefit.
The LI provides a professional home for all landscape practitioners including landscape scientists, landscape planners, landscape architects, landscape managers and urban designers.
CELA Council of Education in Landscape Architecture
CELA is comprised of over 120 institutions and individuals who have interest in the preparation of landscape architects for global practice. CELA's eight regions primarily cover North America, Australia, New Zealand, Europe and the Pacific Rim, but its outreach is worldwide.
Online resources for Landscape Architecture
https://pxhere.com/en/photo/761741 (retrieved: 10/16/17)
https://c1.staticflickr.com/7/6120/6303028815_cf35159d7e_z.jpg (retrieved: 10/16/17)
https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/782/20531628886_e6c4608cb0_b.jpg (retrieved: 10/16/17)
Online book / Landscape Design
Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and authoritative content on agriculture and related fields that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
Open access resource issued by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy, 2009 This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library. Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. Some full text.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of over 384,000 items on the human impact to the environment, as well as open access full text for nearly 5000.
Environmental Studies - Gale In Context (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource on environmental topics that includes news, commentary, documents, conference reports, statistics, audio, video, images. Updated daily.
TOXNET This link opens in a new window
Produced by The National Library of Medicine, Toxicology Data Network is a group of databases that covers areas of toxicology including chemicals and drugs, environmental health, risk assessment and regulation, occupational safety and health, diseases and the environment, and poisoning.
American Farmland Trust
Founded in 1980 by a group of farmers and conservationists concerned about the rapid loss of the nation's farmland to development, American Farmland Trust (AFT) is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to protecting our nation's strategic agricultural resources.
Audubon's mission is to conserve and restore natural ecosystems, focusing on birds, other wildlife, and their habitats for the benefit of humanity and the earth's biological diversity.
BCIN, the Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network, is the Web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property.
Heritage Law Bibliography:
An international bibliography for legal issues in cultural and natural heritage.
i-Tree : Tools for Assessing and Managing Community Forests
i-Tree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. The i-Tree Tools help communities of all sizes to strengthen their urban forest management and advocacy efforts by quantifying the structure of community trees and the environmental services that trees provide.
National Parks Conservation Association
To protect and enhance America's National Parks for present and future generations.
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Soils
Soils is part of the National Cooperative Soil Survey, an effort of Federal and State agencies, universities, and professional societies to deliver science-based soil information.
Since 1951, The Nature Conservancy has been using science and partnerships to protect Earth's most important natural places — for you and future generations.
North American Plant Protection Organization (NAPPO)
NAPPO, a Regional Plant Protection Organization of the International Plant Protection Convention, coordinates the efforts among Canada, the United States and Mexico to protect their plant resources from the entry, establishment and spread of regulated plant pests, while facilitating intra/ interregional trade.
Plant Conservation Alliance
The PCA is a consortium of ten federal government Member agencies and over 270 non-federal Cooperators representing various disciplines within the conservation field who work collectively to solve the problems of native plant extinction and native habitat restoration, ensuring the preservation of our ecosystem.
The Trust for Public Land
The Trust for Public Land conserves land for people to enjoy as parks, gardens, and other natural places, ensuring livable communities for generations to come.
Climate Impact Resources
- Climate Profiles from Sperling's Best Places. Selected data on many cities and countries.
- EcoDesign / This site is a collection of resources for ecological design for buildings and cities. It is hosted by the College of Architecture and Design at the University of Tennessee whose goal is to make it easier for architecture students to understand energy concepts and to design energy efficient buildings.
- Golden Gate Weather Services - Localized weather forecasts and climatological outlooks : includes links to many sources and statistics.
- Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory - Heat Island Group. Heat Island research is conducted to find, analyze, and implement solutions to the summer warming trends occurring in urban areas, the so-called 'heat island' effect. Concentrates on the study and development of more reflective surfaces for roadways and buildings. Site also includes cool pavements, cool roofs and more.
- National Climatic Data Center - NCDC archives weather data obtained by the National Weather Service, Military Services, Federal Aviation Administration, and the Coast Guard, as well as data from voluntary cooperative observers.
- National Climatic Data Center - Local Climatological Data - a monthly summary from major airport weather stations that includes a daily account of temperature extremes, degree days, precipitation, wind, hourly precipitation and 3-hour weather observations.
- National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration - NOAA is a federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere. Provides information and data at all levels.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory - renewable energy research and data.
- National Weather Service - links to San Francisco Bay Area, California and climate archives. Includes forecasts, hazards, watches, and warnings.
- Solar Radiation Data Manual for Buildings - from the National Renewable Energy Lab. Includes solar radiation and climate data.
- Sun Angle Calculator - SunAngle computes the position of the sun and related information for a given location, date, and time. This information may be useful in building design, solar energy system design, photography, and other applications..
- Weather Underground / includes international weather information.
- Wind Resource Information / from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.
- World Data Center for Meteorology / World Data Center (WDC) for Meteorology is maintained by the U.S. Department of Commerce, NOAA, and NCDC. Established during the International Geophysical Year (IGY) of 1957, the WDC System now functions under the guidance of the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU).
- World Meteorological Organization / Includes weather prediction, air pollution research, climate change related activities, ozone layer depletion studies and tropical storm forecasting, coordinates global scientific activity. The United Nations, the Geneva-based Organization provides the authoritative scientific voice on the state and behaviour of the Earth's atmosphere and climate.
American Meteorological Society
Founded in 1919, the American Meteorological Society (AMS) is the nation’s premier scientific and professional organization promoting and disseminating information about the atmospheric, oceanic, and hydrologic sciences.
Landscape Design at Lincoln Center
https://www.lct.org/about/ (retrieved: 10/16/17)
More resources available using Fordham's Environmental Studies Research Guide developed by Reference Librarian David Vassar - EXCELLENT Resources!
Books in the Fordham Collection
Landscape Architecture by The most comprehensive, current guide to the theoryand practice of landscape architecture For more than 50 years, this pioneering guide has served as the foremost resource on the principles and practices of landscape architecture.
Call Number: SB472 .S58 2013 RH & LC
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
Central Park NYC by A lavish and unprecedented exploration of Central Park’s extraordinary and beautifully designed spaces, buildings, sculpture, and follies, in historic photographs and exquisitely detailed watercolors by the authors.
Call Number: F128.65.C3 Z44 2013 Walsh Library Reference Area
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
Living Land by Foreword by Catherine Wagner Chapter 1: Urban Play: A Project from Start to Finish What does a landscape architect do exactly? Here, we peel back the finished project, which has won several design awards, to show the major steps in the making of the garden.
Call Number: SB466.U65 C297 2013 Walsh Library
Publication Date: 2013-02-13
Design with Microclimate by Robert Brown helps us see that a "thermally comfortable micro climate" is the very foundation of well-designed and well-used outdoor places.
Call Number: SB475.9.C55 B75 2010 Walsh Library
Publication Date: 2010-09-02
Modern Architectural Landscape by In The Modern Architectural Landscape Caroline Constant examines diverse approaches to landscape in the work of architects practicing in Europe and the United States between 1915 and the mid-1980s. Case studies highlight landscapes in the public realm rather than the private garden, which had been a primary focus of much Western landscape theory and practice during the early decades of the century.
Call Number: NA2542.35 .C64 2012 Walsh Library
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
The Complete House and Grounds by In this book, Caren Yglesias, a practicing architect, examines Downing's legacy with an eye for relevance to today's domestic landscape. She builds on Downing's work in order to redefine what makes a "complete," or nurturing and fulfilling, house and grounds.
Call Number: NA737.D675 Y39 2011 Walsh Library
Publication Date: 2012-04-15
The Vertical Farm by "The vertical farm is a world-changing innovation whose time has come. Dickson Despommier's visionary book provides a blueprint for securing the world's food supply and at the same time solving one of the gravest environmental crises facing us today."--Sting Imagine a world where every town has their own local food source, grown in the safest way possible, where no drop of water or particle of light is wasted, and where a simple elevator ride can transport you to nature's grocery store - imagine the world of the vertical farm.
Call Number: S494.5 .U72 D47 2010 Walsh Library
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Dickson Despommier - author of The Verticle Farm
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)