Research Guides @ Fordham: Palliative and End-of-Life Care: Databases/Articles

Best Bet Databases

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
EBSCOhost Databases List
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Full text of many articles from health and fitness magazines, medical periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Formerly Health Reference Center Academic.
HeinOnline Law Library
Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more. Special collections include: John F. Kennedy assassination, history of capital punishment, slavery in America and the world, Gun regulation and legislation, women and the law, military and government.
JAMA
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only. For search strings with more than 255 characters, use PubMed with journal JAMA.
PsycARTICLES (APA)
Thousands of full text articles from journals published by the APA. On EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (APA)
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
PubMed/MEDLINE
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch. For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
PubMed Central
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine NLM.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Other Databases

Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Gale Virtual Reference Library. 10 volume encyclopedia edited by Donald Borchert. Macmillian, 2006. Go to Table of Contents for full text.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Edition)
2nd edition of the 26-volume online encyclopedia.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA)
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA) Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). To use the new AI Research Tool, first select a subscribed journal article, Open Access book chapter, or research report.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Nexis Uni
Major U.S. and world news company profiles, SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and Hoover's Company Reports. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers. FOR BEST RESULTS: CREATE ACCOUNT (ONLY FROM ON CAMPUS) & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.
See link below for downloading information....
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS is part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention; responsible for collecting vital U.S. health statistics.
ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database
Books and journals, some full text, from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration. Includes hundreds of doctoral dissertations on health subjects.
ProQuest Research Library
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971

Search Tip

To find studies, paste this string of terms into an additional search bar in the database you are using:

study OR research OR methodology OR subjects OR data OR results OR findings OR discussion OR conclusion

Palliative and End-of-Life Care: Databases/Articles

Best Bet Databases

Other Databases

Search Tip

Individual Journals

Reference & Instruction Department