Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is grief?
Grief is not a disorder, a disease or a sign of weakness. It is an emotional, physical and
spiritual necessity, the price we pay for love. - Earl Grollman
Databases - Grief & Bereavement
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) - formerly Health Reference Center Academic
Full text of many articles from health and fitness magazines, medical periodicals, reference books and pamphlets.
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only.
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch.
For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Books & E-books
Continuing Bonds: A New Understanding of Grief by
Call Number: BF575.G7 C67 1996 (RH LC)
Washington, DC: Taylor & Francis, 1996.
Dead But Not Lost: Grief Narratives in Religious Traditions by
Call Number: BL504.G67 2005 (RH)
Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press, 2005.
Dying, Death and Grief: Working With Adult Bereavement by
Call Number: BF575.G7 M35 2008 (RH LC)
Los Angeles, CA: SAGE, 2008.
End-of-Life Issues, Grief, and Bereavement: What Clinicians Need to Know by
Call Number: R726.8.E537 2011 (WC)
Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2011.
Grief and Bereavement in Contemporary Society: Bridging Research and Practice by
Call Number: BF575.G7 G724 2011 (WC)
New York, NY: Routledge, 2011.
Grief and Bereavement in the Adult Palliative Care Setting by
Call Number: BF575.G7 S764 2013 (WC)
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2013.
The Grieving Child: A Parent's Guide by
Call Number: BF723.D3 F58 1992 (WC)
New York, NY: Simon & Schuster, 1992.
Healing Children's Grief: Surviving a Parent's Death From Cancer by
Call Number: BF723.G75 C58 2000 (RH LC WC)
New York, NY: Oxford UP, 2000.
Helping Bereaved Children: A Handbook for Practitioners by
Call Number: BF723.G75 H34 2010 (RH WC)
New York, NY: Guilford, 2010.
Fordham professor emerita author
Living Through Loss: Interventions Across the Life Span by
Call Number: BF575.G7 H66 2006 (RH WC)
New York, NY: Columbia UP, 2006.
Orphaned Adult: Understanding and Coping With Grief and Change After the Death of Our Parents by
Call Number: HQ1073.L49 1999 (RH)
Reading, MA: Perseus, 1999.
Palliative Care: The 400-Year Quest for a Good Death by
Call Number: R726.8.V34 2015 (WC)
Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 2015.
Techniques in Grief Therapy: Creative Practices for Counseling the Bereaved by
Call Number: RC455.4.L67 T43 2012 (WC)
New York, NY: Routledge, 2012.
Transitions in Dying and Bereavement: A Psychosocial Guide for Hospice and Palliative Care by
Call Number: R726.8.C336 2003 (WC)
Baltimore, MD: Health Professions Press, 2003.
Campus Library Designations
RH = Walsh Library at Rose Hill, Bronx
LC = Quinn Library at Lincoln Center
WC = Westchester Campus Library (Fordham Westchester Library)
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)