Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Palliative and End-of-Life Care: Access Issues

Fordham library resources and additional information on various aspects of palliative and end-of-life care; Librarian Peter Patton, Editor.

RESOURCES WITH NO LOGIN REQUIRED

If you are unable to access library resources with your Fordham credentials, those listed on the following pages are freely available without logging in.

Open Access Resources

Open Government Resources

Quick Self-Help Tips for Access Problems

  • Start at the Library Homepage (https://www.fordham.edu/library) NOT my.fordham.edu.
  • Try a different browser (Chrome, Internet Explorer/Edge, Firefox); MAC users should try Safari first.
  • Clear your History/Cache/Cookies.
  • Make sure Cookies and Pop-ups are enabled and allow trusted database sites.
  • Be aware of any notes provided for additional instructions.
  • Some Internet monitoring/blocking programs, browser extensions, software, ad blockers, and private windows may not be fully compatible with the library's electronic resources. Disable and try accessing the e-resource again.

Best Practices

  • Use a fully featured web browser that has been updated to the most recent version.
  • Update Adobe Acrobat Reader for PDF files.
  • Protect your computer. Use virus protection software, firewalls, and adware/spyware protection software.

Remote Access Information

  • Most resources provide remote access via automatic IP authentication with your AccessIT ID. You will be prompted to enter this information.
  • Some resources will indicate if a username/password login is required.
  • Fordham MyDesktop can be used remotely for virtual on-campus access. Contact IT Customer Care for assistance with installing/using MyDesktop.
  • Remote access to e-resources for Alumni is not supported. Consult the Open Access Resources Tab that lists resources open to all.
  • See attached file below for list of titles with no remote access. If a resource cannot be accessed remotely but is available in our print collection, submit an article request to Document Delivery service.

Contacts For Additional Help

IT Customer Care for computer issues; AccessIT ID login problems; or issues with MFA (Multi Factor Authentication). IMPORTANT NOTE: HelpIT call center available 24 hours for issues related to MFA, WiFi, and AccessIT ID.

Contact:

718-817-3999 Or HelpIT@fordham.edu Or Tech Help tab at My.Fordham.edu

Library E-resources Department if you cannot access a specific resource, whether on campus or remote, after successful login with AccessIT ID. Example: an error message or login box appears on the homepage of an electronic journal or database.

Contact:

Lynn Parliman at 718-817-3531 | parliman@fordham.edu

OR

Luisa Porretta at 718-817-3583 | porretta@fordham.edu

Library Reference Department for assistance with search strategies or research guides.

Contact:

Call Reference Desk at Rose Hill (718-817-3586), Lincoln Center (212-636-6050) or Westchester (914-367-3061).

Or use

PROQUEST DISPLACED RESEARCHERS

ProQuest has a Displaced Researchers Program that provides no-cost access to its databases for students and researchers who have been separated from their universities and libraries because of travel bans or other immigration changes. Please send an email to: ContinueMyResearch@proquest.com for assistance on how to request this program. (updated 9/2019)

KNOWN ISSUES

CURRENT

 

ONGOING (in alphabetical order)

AMERICAN ECONOMIC ASSOCIATION

Clear browser cache if you get an error message when downloading an article PDF. DO NOT USE CHROME

ALEXANDER STREET STREAMING VIDEOS

Users in older versions of Internet Explorer (IE8 and earlier) and Firefox (Firefox 12 and earlier) may experience display issues on the new site. Known Issues

CHROME AND OPENING LINKS / PDFs

Chrome may prevent opening of links / PDFs. WORKAROUND: Right-click the link and choose "Open link in new tab"

EBSCO DATABASES

Remote access does not work using "Private Windows" for MAC.

EBSCO / ONESEARCH LINKED FULL TEXT

Linked Full Text may produce an error. WORKAROUND: First search for the journal in either the Catalog or E-Journals tab, and then search for the article within the journal site. NOTE: IF WE DON'T HAVE A SUBSCRIPTION THE JOURNAL WILL NOT APPEAR IN ANY SEARCH RESULTS.  

EBSCO PERSONAL ACCOUNT CREATION

If you are having a problem creating a personal account while off campus, log in to Fordham My Desktop for virtual on-campus access. Contact IT Customer Care for assistance with installing/using MyDesktop.

HEIN ONLINE

Content not included in Catalog, only OneSearch. Use OneSearch or go directly to the Database listed on the H Tab.

HISTORICAL STATISTICS OF THE US

If you get an error message, clear your history/cache/cookies or try a different browser. Avoid Chrome for best results.

KANOPY STREAMING VIDEOS

VIDEO ACQUISITION IS LIMITED TO FORDHAM FACULTY. Select the video then complete the pop-up form using your Fordham email. You will be notified when the video is available.

AVOID USING FIREFOX. Known problem. Chrome and Opera operating normally.
AVOID USING MAC w/FIREFOX FOR ALL STREAMING VIDEOS (NEEDS SEPARATE FLASH DOWNLOAD).
DO NOT USE INTERNET EXPLORER

ONESEARCH AND BROWSER TRACKING

OneSearch may become unresponsive due to problems with browser tracking. If error messages appear: change your privacy/security settings to strict/do not track; and refresh your page. 

OXFORD JOURNALS

Browsing list of issues does not work in Chrome. Use other browsers for best results.

SCIENCE DIRECT (ARTICLE LINKER)

You might see a message in red "Sorry, your request can not be processed due to a system problem." The problem has been reported when searching between OneSearch and Science Direct, and also between Scopus and Science Direct but you might see it with any other linking to Science Direct.

As an alternative, try searching the Library Catalog if you know the journal name/author or use the E-Journal tab from the library homepage. The E-Journals tab on the databases list has a direct link to all Science Direct platform journals (however, we don't subscribe to all). You can find the journal you are looking for. If you get the error message and see the Article Linker sidebar on the right, try clicking those links because many of them work if we have subscribed journal access.

SCIENCE DIRECT (PDF DOWNLOADS)

Downloading of multiple articles or an entire issue requires logging-in to your personal ScienceDirect account (do not attempt to sign-in via the INSTITUTION link). Individual article downloads are possible without logging-in to ScienceDirect.

SKILLSOFT BOOKS

If you cannot access a Skillsoft ebook from the catalog link, search for the title directly in the Books24x7 database.