Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only.
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch.
For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Web Content: Palliative Care vs. Hospice Care
How are palliative care and hospice alike, and how are they different?
What is hospice care?
- Provides treatment to manage pain and symptoms associated with a terminal illness
- Gives support to patient and family
- Provides comfort and care, not "cure" the illness or disease
- Objectives are pain and symptom control
- Enables person who is terminally ill to enjoy life to the fullest
From Senior HealthHospice Care Overview-Types of Hospice Care Services; medicalcenter.osu.edu/
Books & E-books
A Balm for Gilead: Meditations on Spirituality and the Healing Arts by
Call Number: R725.55.S82 2006 (RH)
Washington, DC: Georgetown University Press, 2006.
The Hospice Companion: Best Practices for Interdisciplinary Assessment and Care of Common Problems During the Last Phase of Life by
Call Number: R726.8.F553 2012 (WC)
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2012.
In the Midst of Life: A Hospice Volunteer's Story by
Call Number: R726.8.R665 2004 (RH)
Montgomery, AL: New South Books, 2004.
Medicare Hospice Benefits by
Call Number: Electronic government document
Baltimore, MD: US Department of Health & Human Services, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 2013.
Oxford American Handbook of Hospice and Palliative Medicine by
Call Number: R726.8.O89 2011 (WC)
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2011.
Campus Library Designations
RH = Walsh Library at Rose Hill, Bronx
LC = Quinn Library at Lincoln Center
WC = Westchester Campus Library (Fordham Westchester Library)
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)