Research Guides @ Fordham: Humanitarian Studies Programs: Articles &amp; Databases

News & Newspapers

Newspapers By Subscription
Full list of current and historical newspapers available through the libraries.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Includes Major U.S. and world news. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. FOR BEST RESULTS: MUST CREATE ACCOUNT & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

UN News
Multimedia and multilingual news content from around the world from the United Nations.

Magazine & Journal Articles

To search across multiple publications at once on a particular topic, try a database like OneSearch on the library home page or try the recommended databases on the subject guide that fits your topic.

See the full list of research guides or check out the Additional Research Guides box listed on this page.

Selected publications in Humanitarian Studies available at Fordham:

To search for specific publications like The Economist, Foreign Affairs, or find an article from a citation, try using the Periodical Search option in the catalog.

Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals (Video)
Watch this video to learn how to look up journals, magazines, and newspapers individually from a citation.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

Issue Reports

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Includes Archive 1923-Present. A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues that study the evolution of various topics over time.

Selected Databases

The following selection of databases contain a mixture of content including news, research reports, magazine articles, conference proceedings, and peer-reviewed journal articles.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country and industry reports, and downloadable data.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs since 1991 including working papers, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory, and comparative politics.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Offers public policy research and analysis from think tanks, nonprofit organizations, NGOS, university research programs, etc.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available.

Humanitarian Crises & Response

See the Humanitarian Data page on the Demographic Data & Statistics guide.

Country Reports

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
Annual reports from the U.S. State Department covering internationally recognized agreements on individual, civil, political, and worker rights.
United Nations Statistics Division
Gateway to finding statistics, data, fact sheets, and more compiled by UN departments and programs.
The World Factbook from the CIA
Summaries, fact sheets, maps, and images compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency.

Regional Databases

Middle East & Africa (MIDA) This link opens in a new window
Specific focus on political and social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, trade, and more covering the Middle East and Africa.

Historical Digital Collections

World Digital Library (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
The World Digital Library, a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world. The WDL sought to preserve and share some of the world’s most important cultural objects, increasing access to cultural treasures and significant historical documents.

For assistance finding additional historical items, ask one of the library liaisons on this guide or another guide related to your topic for recommendations.

Additional Research Guides

United Nations Resources

UN Documentation: How to Find UN Documents
Research guide from the Dag Hammarskjöld Library with tips for finding UN documents, resolutions, reports, meeting records & speeches, voting records, and letters.
UN Official Document System (ODS)
Provides full text search of documents issued since 1993; resolutions of all principal organs & Security Council plenary documents since 1946. Older documents are added regularly. Includes the Daily Journals of New York and Geneva.
United Nations Digital Library (UNDL)
Includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.
UN Data
Data portal offering datasets from UN programs, departments, and partners.
Finding Maps
Research guide from the Dag Hammarskjöld Library with tips for finding maps.

See UN department and program web pages for research reports, data, and more.

Other Intergovernmental Resources

AidData This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database on international development finance and foreign aid.
Inter-American Development Bank Repository This link opens in a new window
Gateway for a broad range of resources and information for all sectors and countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online archive of IMF publications, dating back to 1946.

NATO E-Library
Collection of digitized documents, multimedia content, and research guides from NATO.
OECD Resources
List of OECD databases available at Fordham.
The World Bank
Research and publications from the World Bank.
World Health Organization (WHO) -- IRIS
Repository of publications from WHO.

Humanitarian Studies Programs: Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases