Research Guides @ Fordham: Law: Start -- Reference Sources

Introduction

Aimed at undergraduate and graduate researchers in the humanities and social sciences who use legal and government sources in their research and scholarship, this guide provides an overview of legal resources and search tips covering the United States, the State of New York, and a small selection of international law materials.

► For more in-depth questions, reach out to one of the librarians listed on this guide to request a research consultation.

► If you are a student enrolled at Fordham University School of Law, please consult the resources for lawyers at The Maloney Library.

Resources marked with this open lock are open access. This means the items are free for anyone to use regardless of affiliation to Fordham.

Background Research with General Encyclopedias

Curious about a legal topic but not sure where to start? Use encyclopedias to find background information. Make a list of names of people, cases, places, dates, etc. related to your topic. These words will be your search terms as you look through other sources and databases.

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics.

Open Access Resources & Guides

Law and Legal Resources at NYPL
Links to additional guides and resources from the New York Public Library.
Guide to Law Online: U.S. New York
Compiled by the Library of Congress.
Legal Information Institute
Open access resource from Cornell Law School offering guidance on a range of legal topics.

Interested in Law School?

If you think that you may be interested in law school you should spend some time reviewing the information provided by The Law School Admission Council (LSAC). LSAC administers the LSAT and provides a wealth of free information about preparing for and taking the LSAT test, selecting a law school, applying to a law school, types of law school programs, specialties within the field of law, and diversity in law school.

It is recommended that you review the LSAC website content before you purchase an LSAT test prep book, or enroll in a law school preparatory program.

Law School Admission Council (LSAC)
From the website about page: "LSAC is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to advance law and justice by encouraging diverse, talented individuals to study law and by supporting their enrollment and learning journeys from prelaw through practice."

Selected Electronic Reference Sources

Legal Research [electronic resource] : How to Find & Understand the Law (19th ed.) by Editors of Nolo
NOLO, 2021.
The Yale Law School Guide to Research in American Legal History by John B. Nann; Morris L. Cohen
Yale University Press, 2018.
American Legal History [electronic resource] : A Very Short Introduction by G. Edward White
Oxford University Press, 2014.
Law 101 [electronic resource] : Everything You Need to Know About American Law, 4th Edition by Jay Feinman
Oxford University Press, 2014.

Print Reference Sources

Black's Law Dictionary (6th Pocket Edition) by Bryan A. Garner
Thomson Reuter, 2021.
Call number K13 .B5 2021
See catalog for current location.
Legal Research in a Nutshell (14th ed.) by Kent Olson
West Academic, 2021.
Call number KF240 .C54 2021
See catalog for current location.