Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Charter of the United Nations
The UN Charter, signed on 26 June 1945, came in to force on October 24 of the same year. The Charter outlines the organization, purpose, principles, duties, and powers of the United Nations.
UN Member States
List of Member States of the United Nations.
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, proclaimed by the UN General Assembly in Paris on 10 December 1948, sets a common standard for the fundamental human rights which must be universally protected.
The Refugee Convention and Protocol
The 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees is the key legal document in defining who is a refugee, their rights and the legal obligations of states. Subsequent conventions have refined original protocols.
The Statute of the International Court of Justice
The Statute of the International Court of Justice is annexed to the Charter of the United Nations, of which it forms an integral part. The main object of the Statute is to organize the composition and the functioning of the Court.
Convention on the Rights of the Child
Ratified in November of 1989, the Convention on the Rights of the Child promotes and protects the rights of children worldwide. It is the most rapidly and widely ratified international human rights treaty in history.
Millennium Development Goals
UN Millenium Declaration
Adopted on 8 September 2000 following a three-day Millennium Summit at the United Nations, this declaration stresses and reaffirms commitment to international human rights laws and international humanitarian laws under the UN Charter. The Declaration also addresses sustainable development, peace efforts, aid to Africa, and set several goals for the coming decades.
Investing in Development
A detailed plan for meeting the varied Millennium Development Goals. Published in 2005, with the aim of meeting all goals by 2015. Includes an outline of targets, progress reports, recommendations, and strategies. Visit https://www.millennium-project.org/projects/challenges/
In Larger Freedom
2005 report and presentation of a plan of action from the Secretary-General to the President of the General Assembly regarding the future direction of OHCHR.
Millennium Development Goals Report 2015
This report is based on a master set of data that has been compiled by the Inter-Agency and Expert Group on MDG Indicators led by the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat, in response to the wishes of the General Assembly for periodic assessment of progress towards the MDGs.
Millennium Development Goals Indicators (UN)
This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.
Handbook on Indicators for Monitoring the Millennium Development Goals
The handbook on Indicators for monitoring the MDGs includes complete information on a number of issues pertaining the official MDG indicators, including the indicators added in 2008. The handbook provides information on issues such as concepts, definitions, sources, method of computation, rationale for choosing the indicators, limitations or possible disaggregations.
Sustainable Development Goals
Humanitarian Principles and Ethics
Coordination and Clusters
Migration and Trafficking
Convention for the Suppression of the Traffic in Persons
UN resolution which proclaimed the inhumane nature and illegality of human trafficking (especially for the purpose of forced prostitution), and reaffirmed the signatories' commitment to prohibition of trafficking and social measures aimed at aiding trafficked persons.
Protocol to Prevent Trafficking in Persons
Adopted in 2000 as a supplement to the Convention Against Transnational Organised Crime. The Protocol defines the crime of trafficking, details proper return of trafficked victims, suspends the rights of guardians who trafficked a child, and provides proposed criminal penalties for those found guilty of trafficking, keeping the rights and safety of victims in mind.
IOM - Assistance to Victims of Trafficking
Handbook offering guidance and advice necessary to effectively deliver a full range of assistance to victims of trafficking from the point of initial contact and screening up to the effective social reintegration of the individuals concerned.
World Migration Report 2015 – Migrants and Cities: New Partnerships to Manage Mobility
The report examines both internal and international migration. It aims to document how migration is shaping cities and the situation of migrants in cities, as well as draws attention to the livelihood of migrants in the cities of the Global South.
Migration Initiatives 2016
Migration Initiatives 2016 is structured around the Migration Governance Framework principles and objectives to provide a comprehensive look at what IOM stands for and its contribution to improved migration governance for sustainable development.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)