Research Guides @ Fordham: Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (WGSS): Beginning Research

Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies (WGSS) Guide

Welcome to the research guide supporting Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies (WGSS) at Fordham University Libraries. This guide is designed to make finding research materials in WGSS easier to understand.

If you have questions, please reach out to one of the Library Liaisons for WGSS listed on this page. We are happy to answer your questions via email or meet with you one-on-one over Zoom. You may also use our Ask a Librarian service to chat live with a librarian for research help.

Please check out the guide for LGBTQ Studies for additional resources.

This page highlights reference sources (also known as tertiary sources) available through the library. These resources can provide authoritative background information that will become helpful as you generate a research question, select keywords, and search for sources.

Reference Databases

Credo Reference - Academic Core
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks covering diverse subjects and disciplines.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Four-volume work capturing the experiences of women throughout history.

Selection of Handbooks, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries

Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies [electronic resource] by Keywords Feminist Editorial Collective
New York University Press, 2021.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by Abbie Goldberg; Genny Beemyn (eds.)
SAGE, 2021.
The Routledge Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality by Jo Angouri; Judith Baxter (eds.)
Routledge, 2021.
Research Handbook on Gender, Sexuality and the Law [electronic resource] by Chris Ashford; Alexander Maine (editors)
Edward Elgar Publishing, 2020.
The Bloomsbury Handbook of 21st-Century Feminist Theory [electronic resource] by Robin Truth Goodman (Editor)
Bloomsbury Academic, 2019.
Encyclopedia of Women in World Religions: Faith and Culture Across History [2 Volumes] by Susan de-Gaia (Editor)
ABC-CLIO, 2019.
Gender Inequality [electronic resource] : A Reference Handbook by David E. Newton
ABC-CLIO, 2019.

Library Liaison to WGSS

Tierney Gleason

she/her/hers

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus | Walsh Family Library | Room 129
tgleason11@fordham.edu

718.817.3574

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, & Sociology, Communication & Media Studies (Film & TV), Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Fashion Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History (American), History (World), Humanitarian Studies, Law, Library & Information Science, Political Science & Government, Religion & Theology, Urban Studies, Visual & Performing Arts (Music, Dance, Theater)

Library Liaison to WGSS

Jane Suda

she/her

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library
Room 128

jsuda@fordham.edu

718-817-3587

Subjects: Business, Classics, Communication & Media Studies (Film & TV), Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Fashion Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History (American), History (World), Language & Literature, Law, Library & Information Science, Medicine & Health, Psychology & Psychiatry, Religion & Theology, Urban Studies

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)