Research Guides @ Fordham: Jewish Studies: Women, Gender & Sexuality

Selected Books

Traditional Jewish Sex Guidance : A History by Evyatar Marienberg
Brill, 2022.
Trans Talmud : Androgynes and Eunuchs in Rabbinic Literature by Max K. Strassfeld
University of California Press, 2022.
Call number [RH Stacks] BM729.T65 S77 2022
Jewish Radical Feminism : Voices from the Women's Liberation Movement by Joyce Antler
New York University Press, 2018.
Call number [RH] BM729.W6 A58 2018
Jewish Feminism and Intersectionality by Marla Brettschneider
State University of New York Press, 2016.
A Gay Synagogue in New York by Moshe Shokeid
Columbia University Press, 1995.
Call number [RH Stacks & QuinnX] BM225.N5 S56 1995

Four Centuries of Jewish Women's Spirituality : A Sourcebook (Rev. ed.) by Ellen M. Umansky; Dianne Ashton
Brandeis University Press, 2009.
Call number [RH Stacks] BM43 .F68 2009

Nashim : A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues
Interdisciplinary journal on Jewish women's and gender studies covering literature, text studies, anthropology, theology, contemporary thought, sociology, the arts, and more.
Bridges: A Jewish Feminist Journal
Featured the creative work of Jewish feminist activists through articles, commentary, scholarly essays, fiction and poetry, visual arts, oral histories, archival materials, and more from 1990-2011.
Articles & Databases
Try searching in the recommended databases for Jewish Studies to find articles on a specific topic. Page also contains information on searching for an article by citation, using WorldCat, document delivery, and more.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary source publications relating to the history and study of the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBT communities from 1940 to present. Content includes newsletters, newspapers, conference minutes, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more.

Research Guides at the Center for Jewish History
Search for resources on Jewish women & LGBTQ communities through research guides highlighting the archive and library collection at the Center for Jewish History.
Jewish Women's Archive
A national organization collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women.
Jewish Text and Tradition - Keshet
Resources for exploring religious texts and traditions related to LGBTQ identity and experience by scholars, rabbis, activists, and lay leaders.

Women and Exilic Identity in the Hebrew Bible [electronic resource] by Martien Halvorson-Taylor and Katherine E. Southwood (editors)
Bloomsbury T & T Clark, 2018.
The Hebrew Bible : Feminist and Intersectional Perspectives by Gale A. Yee (editor)
Fortress Press, 2018.
Call number [RH Stacks] BS521.4 .H433 2018
Introducing the Women's Hebrew Bible : Feminism, Gender Justice, and the Study of the Old Testament by Susanne Scholz
Bloomsbury T&T Clark, 2017.
Call number [RH] BS521.4 .S34 2017

Not finding what you need? Ask a librarian in the chat box below for help.