Research Guides @ Fordham: Jewish Studies: The Holocaust

Reference Books

The Holocaust: an Encyclopedia and Document Collection [4 Volumes] by Paul R. Bartrop and Michael Dickerman (editors)
ABC-CLIO, 2017.
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 by Geoffrey P. Megargee (Editor)
Indiana University Press, 2009.
Call number [LC Reference] D805.A2 U55 2009 V1 & V3
A digital version of Volume I & II can be accessed here.
A digital version of Volume III can be accessed here.
The Routledge History of the Holocaust by Jonathan C. Friedman (Editor)
Routledge, 2011.
Call number [Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection] D804.3 .R76 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies by Peter Hayes and John K. Roth (editors)
Oxford University Press, 2010.
Call number [RH Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection] D804.3 .O94 2010

Atlases

The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust (4th ed.) by Martin Gilbert
Call number [RH Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection] G1797.21.E29 G58 2009
*Check the catalog for access to editions 1-4 of this title
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust by U. S. Holocaust Memorial Council Staff; U. S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Staff
MacMillan Pub., 1995.
Call number [LC & RH] G1797.21.E29 H5 1995
*Check the catalog for exact locations

Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection

Fordham University Libraries is the proud home of the Sidney Rosenblatt (FCLC '82) Holocaust Collection with over 10,000 important works in print, microfilm, video, and more.

Research Guides & Bibliographies

Holocaust Literature : A Handbook of Critical, Historical, and Literary Writings by Saul S. Friedman
Greenwood Press, 1993.
Call number [RH Stacks & Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection] D804.3 .H6475 1993

NYPL Research Guide: Holocaust Research, Education, and Remembrance Online

Center for Jewish History Genealogy Guide: Holocaust Research

Finding Archives & Resources

EHRI Portal -- European Holocaust Research Infrastructure
Provides information on Holocaust-related archival material held in institutions across Europe and beyond.

Yizkor Books

Yizkor Book Collection at NYPL
A collection of digitized Yizkor (memorial) books at NYPL documenting the history of Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust. Most books are in Hebrew and/or Yiddish.

Digital Primary Sources

Yad Vashem Digital Collections
Digitized primary sources from the World Holocaust Remembrance Center including databases, documents, photographs, oral histories, films, and more.
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Collections
Search over 250,000 records in this collection. Use the search options and the bottom of the page to limit your search to digitized items.

Europeana Collections This link opens in a new window
Gateway to 60 national and research libraries of Europe including the British Library, the Bibliotheque Nationale Francaise, Deutsche Bibliotek and many others.

Survivor Testimonies & Resistance

Video Testimonies - Yad Vashem, The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
Offers survivor testimonies by topic or location according to the birthplaces of the survivors.
Survivor Reflections and Testimonies - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Provides access to survivor testimonies by video as well as access to diaries, oral histories, and more.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies - Yale University
Holds more than 4,400 testimonies at Yale University Libraries. Access note: You will need to create an account & fill out a digital form to request access to each testimony.
Jewish Partisan Education Foundation
Offers background information, a bibliography, images, testimonies and more on Jewish partisans & resistance during the Holocaust.

Nuremberg Trials & Nazi Persecution

Nuremberg Trials Project
Digitized images and/or full-text versions of the Harvard Law School Library's Nuremberg documents.
Nuremberg Trials Collection via The Avalon Project
Digitized documents from the Yale Law School & Lillian Goldman Law Library.
Arolsen Archives -- International Center on Nazi Persecution
Provides the largest online archive on the victims of Nazi persecution.

Jewish Studies: The Holocaust

Reference Books

Atlases

Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection

Research Guides & Bibliographies

Finding Archives & Resources

Yizkor Books

Digital Primary Sources

Survivor Testimonies & Resistance

Nuremberg Trials & Nazi Persecution

Reference & Instruction Department