Research Guides @ Fordham: Jewish Studies: Language Resources

Handbooks

The Oxford English-Hebrew Dictionary by N. Doniach (Ed.) et al.
Oxford University Press, 1996.
Call number [LC & RH Reference] PJ4833 .O9 1996
The Complete English-Hebrew Dictionary (2 Vol.) by Reuben Alcalay
Massada Pub. Co., 1981.
Call number [RH Reference Area] PJ4833 .A53 1981
The Analytical Hebrew and Chaldee Lexicon by Benjamin Davidson
*Print copy is a reprint; link above is a digital copy of the original.
Hendrickson Publishers, 1981.
Call number [RH Reference Area] PJ4833 .D3A 1981
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by Ludwig Kohler and Walter Baumgartner
Brill, 1994.
Call number [RH Reference Area] PJ4833 .K64 1994 v. 1-4
Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary by Gitl Schaechter-Viswanath and Paul Glasser (editors)
Indiana University Press, 2016.
Call number [RH Reference Area] PJ5117 .C66 2016
Ladino-English, English-Ladino Concise Dictionary by Elli Kohen and Dahlia V. Kohen-Gordon
Hippocrene Books, 2000.
Call number [RH Reference Area] PC4813.4 .K64 2000

A Basic Bibliography for the Study of the Semitic Languages (2 vol.) by J.H. Hospers
Brill, 1973-74.
Call number [RH Stacks] PJ3010 .H68
Sephardic Studies : A Research Bibliography Incorporating Judezmo Language, Literature and Folklore, and Historical Background by David M. Bunis
Garland Pub., 1981
Call number [RH Stacks] PC4813.A1 B8
Yiddish Language and Folklore : A Selective Bibliography for Research (Second Collection) by Uriel Weinreich
Mouton, 1965.
Call number [RH Stacks] PJ5115 .W4

ALA-LC Romanization Tables from the Library of Congress
For transliteration of Amharic, Hebrew and Yiddish, Judeo-Arabic, Ladino, and more.

Jewish Language Research Website
Produced and edited by Dr. Sarah Bunin Benor of Hebrew Union College.

Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon Project
Led by an international group of scholars and based at Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion.

The Sephardic Studies Digital Collection
A digital repository at the University of Washington providing digitized sources about Sephardic Jews in their own language, Ladino.

Yiddish Resources

In Geveb : A Journal of Yiddish Studies
Covers Yiddish literature, language, and culture through scholarly articles, blog posts, text translations, interviews, teaching materials, and more.

Yiddish Book Center Digital Library & Collections
Offers 11,000 digitized books in the Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library, oral histories, audio lectures, children's literature and Yizkor books.