Research Guides @ Fordham: Jewish Studies: Scholarly Articles & Databases

Selected Journals

These journals can be accessed by searching in the box marked for Periodicals in the library catalog:

This section contains a selection of subscribed journals in Jewish Studies for browsing. Check the catalog for additional options.

AJS Review
American Jewish History
Antisemitism Studies
Hebrew Studies
Holocaust and Genocide Studies
Israel Studies
Jewish History
Jewish Quarterly Review
Journal of Jewish Education
Journal of Jewish Thought and Philosophy
Journal of Modern Jewish History
Journal for the Study of Judaism
Modern Judaism
Nashim : A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues
Shofar : An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies
Studies in Christian-Jewish Relations
Transversal : Journal for Jewish studies

Finding Articles from a Citation

This video breaks down the process of checking to see if Fordham subscribes to a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper). For optimal viewing, click to open the video in YouTube and select this icon to expand the video to full screen mode.

Finding Articles in Databases

This selection of library databases aggregates content from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Indexes and abstract databases will provide bibliographic information and/or abstracts on a particular subject or theme. Full text databases will provide bibliographic information, abstracts, and the full text of an article.

Jewish Studies

RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective bibliography from the various fields of Jewish studies as well as Eretz Israel and the State of Israel primarily based on the collections of the National Library.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals via EBSCO.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects via ProQuest since 1971.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of academic journals with 58 titles in Jewish Studies.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account.

History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.

Literature

Gale Literature Platform Search This link opens in a new window
Enables cross-searching of: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, and more.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject index dating back to the 1920s with millions of citations from journals, series, and books covering modern languages, literature, folklore and linguistics.

Religion

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Global index of books, journal articles, reviews and essays in all fields of religion with many links to full text.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles from several hundreds journals, monographs, and software related to Old Testament studies. Coverage since 1978.

Additional Research Guides

Depending on your area of research, you may want to consult these additional research guides for journals and databases:

Scanning Chapters & Interlibrary Loan

Document Delivery Service
Need an electronic scan of a book chapter or article from the library's print collection? Try our Document Delivery Service to receive scans via email.
Interlibrary Loan
For items that Fordham does not own, request articles, book chapters, or books through Interlibrary Loan.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

Jewish Studies: Scholarly Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases