Skip to Main Content

Jewish Studies: Beginning Research

Providing an overview of resources on Jewish Studies locally and within Fordham University Libraries.

Research Support at Fordham University Libraries

Welcome to the Jewish Studies research guide. This guide provides an overview of Fordham's library resources related to Jewish Studies.

To learn more about Jewish Studies at Fordham, see the website for The Center for Jewish Studies.

This page contains a selection of reference resources for beginning research. For additional options, search the library catalog. One-on-one research assistance is available by contacting one of the liaison librarians listed on this page.

Selected Dictionaries

Dictionary of Jewish Words [electronic resource] by Joyce Eisenberg; Ellen Scolnic
Jewish Publication Society, 2006.
Dictionary of Jewish Terms by Ronald L. Eisenberg
Schreiber Pub., 2008.
Call number [RH Reference Area] BM50 .E485 2008
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by John J. Collins and Daniel C. Harlow (editors)
William B. Eerdmans, 2010.
Call number [RH Reference Area] BM176 .E39 2010
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Israel by Niels Peter Lemche
Scarecrow Press, 2004.
Call number [RH Reference Area] DS102.8 .L38 2004
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Geoffrey Wigoder and R. J. Zwi Werblowsky (editors
Oxford University Press, 1997.
Call number [(RH & LC Reference Area] BM50 .O94 1997

Resources at New York Public Library

Apply for a Library Card at New York Public Library
A New York Public Library (NYPL) card will enable you to borrow books at any of the 92 locations in the Bronx, Manhattan, and Staten Island; request materials in reading rooms or from offsite storage; and access selected databases from home.
Oxford Bibliographies - Jewish Studies
**This resource requires a library card at New York Public Library for access.** Provides authoritative annotated bibliographies to assist with beginning research.

Selected Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Judaica (2nd Edition) by Fred Skolnik and Michael Berenbaum (editors)
MacMillan Reference USA, 2007.
Encyclopedia of Judaism by Sara E. Karesh; Mitchell M. Hurvitz
Call Number: (RH) Ref BM50 .K37 2006
New York : Facts on File, 2006.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by Geoffrey Wigoder (Editor); Fred Skolnick (Editor); Shmuel Himelstein (Editor)
Call Number: (RH , WC) Ref BM50 .E63 2002
New York : New York University Press, 2002.
Medieval Jewish Civilization [electronic resource] : An Encyclopedia by Norman Roth
Routledge, 2016.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World by Norman Stillman
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS135.L4 E53 2010 V.1-5
Brill, 2010.
The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe by Gershon David Hundert (Editor)
Yale University Press, 2008.
Call number [RH Reference Area] DS135.E8 Y578 2008

Encyclopedia of the Founders and Builders of Israel by David Tidhar
A project of Touro College Libraries, this link provides digital access to this historic 19-volume set.
Jewish Virtual Library (JVL)
Online encyclopedia from the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise (AICE) covering Jewish history, politics, and culture with over 25,000 articles and 10,000 images.

Cambridge Histories

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Unique historical reference compendium of renowned texts including The Cambridge History of Judaism and more.

Jewish Studies & Digital Humanities

#DHJewish
Search for news, events and projects at the intersection of Jewish Studies and Digital Humanities.

Library Liaison to Jewish Studies

Tierney Gleason

she/her/hers

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus | Walsh Family Library | Room 129
tgleason11@fordham.edu

718.817.3574

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Library Liaison to Jewish Studies

she/her

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library
Room 128

jsuda@fordham.edu

718-817-3587

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2024 12:08 PM
URL: https://fordham.libguides.com/JewishStudies
Print Page

Tags: antisemitism, Holocaust, Holocaust Studies, Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Jewish, Jewish Studies, Jews, judaica