Research Guides @ Fordham: Jewish Studies: Eastern European History

Selected Books

The Jew in the Modern World : A Documentary History, 3rd. [digital reserve] by Paul Mendes-Flohr; Jehuda Reinharz (editors)
Oxford University Press, 2011.
*Offers primary source documents translated into English.
The Jews of Eastern Europe, 1772-1881 by Israel Bartal; Chaya Naor (Translator)
University of Pennsylvania Press, 2005.
Call number [RH Stacks] DS135.E8 B3713 2005
Families, Rabbis and Education [electronic resource] : Traditional Jewish Society in Nineteenth-Century Eastern Europe by Shaul Stampfer
Littman Library of Jewish Civilization, 2010.
The Jews in Poland and Russia, 3 vols. by Antony Polonsky
Littman Library of Jewish Civilization, 2010.
Call number [RH Stacks] DS134.53 .P65 2010
Folktales of the Jews, Volume 2, Tales from Eastern Europe by Dan Ben-Amos (Editor)
Jewish Publication Society, 2007.

Digital Archives & Collections

YIVO Archives Digital Resources
Provided links to specific projects including:
- The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe Online
- YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in Poland
- The Edward Blank YIVO Vilna Online Collections Project
- People of A Thousand Towns: Online Photographic Catalog
- The Ruth Rubin Legacy: Archive of Yiddish Folksongs
+ more.
Blavatnik Archive
Shares digitized materials on 20th-century Jewish and world history, with a special emphasis on World War I, World War II, and Soviet Russia.
Central Jewish Library of Poland
One of the major world repositories of digitized Judaica providing access to books, works of art, old prints, manuscripts, archival materials, ephemera, and newspapers.
Centropa
Preserves Jewish memory in Central and Eastern Europe. Offers 45,000+ pages of testimonies and biographies and 25,000+ family photographs and personal documents.
Jewish Museum in Prague
Provides digital collections on the history and culture of Jews in Bohemia and Moravia including religious objects, photos, art work, archival sources and oral history interviews.
Jewish Partisan Education Foundation
Offers background information, a bibliography, images, testimonies and more on Jewish partisans & resistance during the Holocaust.
Hungarian Jewish Museum
Preserves and shares digitized content on Hungarian Jewish history including objects, documents, and images.
The Pinkasim Collection: The International Repository of Communal Ledgers
Provides digital access to handwritten ledgers documenting how European Jewish communities organized social, economic, religious, cultural, and family life, as well as some relations with non-Jewish governments during the 16th to 19th centuries.
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Collections
Search over 250,000 records in this collection. Use the search options and the bottom of the page to limit your search to digitized items.
Virtual Shtetl
Offers background information and primary sources on Jewish towns of the former Polish Commonwealth including a glossary, maps, oral histories, biographies, images, and much more.
Yad Vashem Digital Collections
Digitized primary sources from the World Holocaust Remembrance Center including databases, documents, photographs, oral histories, films, and more.
Yiddish Book Center Digital Library & Collections
Offers 11,000 digitized books in the Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library, oral histories, audio lectures, children's literature and Yizkor books.
Yizkor Book Collection at NYPL
A collection of digitized Yizkor (memorial) books at NYPL documenting the history of Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust. Most books are in Hebrew and/or Yiddish.

Maps of Eastern Europe

Interested in Maps to help with your research?

Check out the Maps section of the online YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe.

Finding Book Series in the Library Catalog

Polin : Studies in Polish Jewry
Beginning with volume 28, Fordham offers electronic access to this series via Project MUSE. For earlier volumes (1986-2015), search the library catalog. Volumes may be in print or electronic format.

Use the Series field in the library catalog to search for volumes in a particular series like Polin : Studies in Polish Jewry, Yad Vashem Studies, or the Littman Library of Jewish Civilization.

To browse books associated with a particular scholarly organization like the American Association for Polish-Jewish Studies, search for the organization with the Author field.

Jewish Studies: Eastern European History

Easter European Jewish History

Selected Books

Digital Archives & Collections

Maps of Eastern Europe

Finding Book Series in the Library Catalog

Reference & Instruction Department