Skip to Main Content

Jewish Studies: Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Providing an overview of resources on Jewish Studies locally and within Fordham University Libraries.

Researching the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

This page holds a selection of resources on the conflict with an emphasis on reference sources, subject headings, information from organizations, and primary documents.

► To find additional resources, schedule a research consultation with one of the librarians listed on this guide.

Resources from Fordham's Center for Jewish Studies

A Deep Dive into the History of Israel & Palestine
A series of talks and a reading list created by Fordham's Center for Jewish Studies.

Selected Background Resources

The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict : What Everyone Needs to Know by Dov Waxman
Oxford University Press, 2019.
Call number [RH Stacks & LC Stacks] DS119.7 .W39935 2019
Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict [electronic resource] by P. R. Kumaraswamy
Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Exploring the Issues

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Helps researchers explore social issues with current news and scholarship from multiple perspectives. Includes a collection on the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Includes reports & an issue tracker on the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict but most content is a few years old.

Searching by Subject Heading

Trying searching for resources using Library of Congress Subject Headings (see suggested headings below) in OneSearch by adjusting the field to conduct a subject search:

Arab-Israeli conflict
Arab-Israeli conflict -- Foreign public opinion
Human rights -- Israel
Israel -- Armed Forces
Israel--Foreign relations
Israel-Hamas War, 2023-
Israel -- Relations -- United States.
Jewish-Arab relations
October 7 Hamas Attack, 2023
Palestine question (1948-
Palestine question (To 1948)
Zionism
Zionism -- Public opinion

Historical Documents

A Guide to Documents on the Arab-Palestinian/Israeli Conflict, 1897-2008 by M. Cherif Bassiouni and Shlomo Ben Ami (editors)
Brill, 2009.
The Search for Peace in the Arab-Israeli Conflict : A Compendium of Documents and Analysis by Terje Rød-Larsen (Ed.) et al.
Oxford University Press, 2014.
Call number [LC Stacks] DS119.76 .S435 2014

The Knesset
Website for The Knesset, the unicameral legislature of Israel.
Israel State Archive Online
Digitized government documents from the State of Israel. Not all content is available in English.
The Avalon Project -- The Middle East 1916-2001 : A Documentary Record
Document collection from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School.

Recent Books

The Gates of Gaza: Critical Voices from Israel on October 7 and the War with Hamas by Lihi Ben Shitrit (Editor)
De Gruyter, 2024.
Call number [DS128.2 .G38 2024] Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection at RH

Digital Resources

B’Tselem – The Israeli Information Center for Human Rights in the Occupied Territories
Offers a range of information including newsletters, maps, statistics, and other data tools.

An Interactive Database of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict (Beta)
Developed by the Economic Cooperation Foundation (ECF), an Israeli policy think tank.

Security Council Report -- The Middle East & The Palestinian Question
Offers independent and impartial reports on the UN Security Council.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Last Updated: Dec 13, 2024 5:12 PM
URL: https://fordham.libguides.com/JewishStudies
Print Page

Tags: antisemitism, Holocaust, Holocaust Studies, Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Jewish, Jewish Studies, Jews, judaica