Jewish Studies: Finding Books

► OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service) aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

► Understanding Limiters in OneSearch

• Limiters are the options on the left that allow users to limit their search by specific criteria.
• This box focuses on the options to limit to Full Text, Catalog Only, and Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

• Selecting Catalog Only shows print and electronic books plus journal titles by subscription (not articles).
  • Use the Library Catalog to search for the most recent books and journals acquired by Fordham Libraries. (There can be a delay between the catalog and OneSearch.)

• Checking Full Text limits to electronic books and articles Fordham owns or subscribes to that are available through EBSCO Discovery Service; it will suppress records for print items.

• Checking Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals will limit article results to electronic items from peer review journals only; it will suppress records from print and electronic books (even if those books went through peer review).

Beware: these limiters will not always work together and can cancel each other out:

• Catalog Only will not work if Full Text or Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals is checked.

• Full Text can be checked at the same time as Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

► Not having any luck with OneSearch? Look to the right side of your screen and select the option to continue your search in All ProQuest databases:

If you know the Judaica Collection or the Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection holds a specific book, you can search for it by title or author in the Classic Library Catalog.

• If you know the Judaica Collection or the Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection holds a specific book, you can search for it by title or author in the new library catalog. 

• To browse the items in the Judaica Collection, you will have to use the Classic Library Catalog and follow specific steps. This link should bring you to the screen that allows searching by Call Number.

• Once inside the call number search of the Classic Library Catalog, type SPEC COLL JUDAICA in the top box asking for a call number.

• In the row below asking for a library option, select Rose Hill--Walsh Library from the drop down menu.

• Press Search. This will show you items in the collection that you can scroll through.

• To advance forward or backward as you browse the collection, look for the FORWARD and BACKWARD options at the top or bottom of the page.

Find items outside of Fordham with WorldCat / OCLC FirstSearch, a platform searching across the largest network of library collections around the world.

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a real, human librarian to get help.