Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mergent Online - Basic Search
Mergent Online (Includes Investext)
Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more.Use Firefox for best results.
Before you start researching, make sure you know:
- the correct spelling of your company name
- if the company is public, private, parent, or subsidiary
- the ticker of your company
- the company's primary SIC and NAICS codes
- the name of the primary industry
All of this can be found in a good company profile.
The Mergent Online database provides a company profile that is easy to locate and read.
Mergent Online - Company Profile
Mergent Competitors or Other Competitors?
Most company profiles in business databases will list competitors based on the primary NAICS and/or SIC codes of the company. Some databases also consider secondary NAICS and/or SIC codes. If you do not like the competitor list provided by one database, check another database. Here are links to the NAICS and SIC websites to help you understand the industry codes used to identify competitors.
Developing a strong knowledge of core business information sources will help prepare you for a successful career in business. If you take the time to learn how to search efficiently and effectively, to exercise discretion when using text and data, and to cite the sources you use, you will earn the respect and trust of your professional associates.
A Research Plan For Your Team
Planning how your team will conduct research, collect data, and ensure that all sources are properly cited is as important as submitting your deliverables.
- Create a shared space for documents
- Divide the work load
- Plan adequate time to research, read your sources, and take notes that you can share with your team
- Meet with your team, share your individual insights, then select the BEST information to include in your deliverables
- After completing one task, determine the next step, return to step 2
- Collect citation information at the same time that you collect your sources.
Activity # 1 : Report Builder - Comparison Report
Complete the activity after the library instruction session. Submit one report for the entire team.
Email your team report to email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org (the librarian who taught your library instruction session) and copy all of the members of your team.
Subject of the email should be your Company name and your team cohort.
Screencast - Searching Mergent Online Basic
Here is a screencast of how to search Mergent Online for a Company Profile:
Guide to Business Databases Chart
Which Business Database Should I Use?
Not all databases are equal. Use this link to go the general Business research guide. Find there a chart to help you determine the best database to use to find the business information that you need.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)