Research Guides @ Fordham: Communication & Media Studies: News & Magazines

New York Times Databases

New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1980 to the present on the ProQuest platform.
New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times from 1985 to current day.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times for 1851-2017.

US Newsstream (Formerly National Newspapers Premier) This link opens in a new window
Most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal and a large collection of local and regional newspapers including the former Black Newspapers database.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text news resource consisting of tens of thousands of local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily with primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Newspaper Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic and religious newspapers and magazines since 1991.
News (Gale OneFile - Includes NY State Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes former New York State Newspapers database content. Full text articles from thousands of national, international, state and local English language newspapers published between 1980 and present.

To use Nexis Uni, you will need to:

Create an account once inside the database using your Fordham email. Look towards the top right of the page for a "Sign In | Register" link. This account will allow you to take advantage of additional features.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and world news, business information, U.S. legal information, cases, directories, and more. See Nexis Uni Training Videos to learn how to use the database and search for specific types of content or click the ? in the bottom right corner for help.
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Series 1-5 (1690-1922) This link opens in a new window
From Readex. Hundreds of newspapers chronicling the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690-1922.
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,500 journals published between 1740 and 1940.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Diverse primary source materials from books, newspapers and periodicals with views of American history and culture during the 19th century.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.

New York Public Radio (NYPR) Shelby White and Leon Levy Digital Archives
Provides access to WNYC's digitized radio legacy featuring arts programming, panel discussions, notable interviews, WWII coverage, and much more.

Selected Popular Magazines:

Search by keyword across multiple magazines by database:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes trade journals and magazines covering media & news industries as well as scholarly journals.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to over 400 periodicals since 1983. Includes full text of many articles.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971. Includes magazines as well as newspaper and journal content.

The Magazine Rack
A collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications from the Internet Archive.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 122,000 television and radio items from the last 70+ years contributed by more than 140 public media organizations and archives across the United States.

C-Span Video Library
Find C-SPAN programs through keyword searching, topic links, "Fast Find" links, and selected "On This Day" links.

CBS News 60 MINUTES This link opens in a new window
Offers access to transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014 via ProQuest.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. Includes news programs.
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.

Internet Archive TV News
Uses closed captioning to enable researchers to search, quote and borrow from the Internet Archive’s collection of 500,000+ US TV news broadcasts aired since 2009.

GDELT Television News Visual Explorer
A collaboration between GDELT and the Internet Archive's Television News Archive. Offers Television Explorer and Television AI Explorer digital tools to search television news transcripts and analyze imagery used in broadcasts.

UNifeed
Broadcast-quality video coverage from the United Nations for the past 30 days.