Research Guides @ Fordham: Communication & Media Studies: Radio &amp; Podcasts

Reference Books & Historical Overviews

Key Concepts in Radio Studies [electronic resource] by Hugh Chignell
SAGE, 2009; Credo Reference, 2012.
Radio Broadcasting from 1920 To 1990 [electronic resource] : An Annotated Bibliography by Diane Foxhill Carothers
Routledge, 2017.
Radio Broadcasting [electronic resource] : A History of the Airwaves by Gordon Bathgate
Pen & Sword History, 2020.
Making Radio : Early Radio Production and the Rise of Modern Sound Culture by Shawn VanCour
Oxford University Press, 2018.
Call number [RH Stacks] PN1991.3.U6 V36 2018

Find Industry Publications

Try the following databases to find industry & trade publications covering radio broadcasting and/or podcasts.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business & economics publications.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of journals and other sources covering business, economics, and more.

Podcasts

Listen Notes
Billing itself as "The Best Podcast Search Engine," this online tool supports searching across multiple platforms for podcasts by keyword.
Podcast Recording Tips
See the Digital Humanities guide

Digital Collections & Archives

New York Public Radio (NYPR) Shelby White and Leon Levy Digital Archives
Provides access to WNYC's digitized radio legacy featuring arts programming, panel discussions, notable interviews, WWII coverage, and much more.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 122,000 television and radio items from the last 70+ years contributed by more than 140 public media organizations and archives across the United States.

Old Time Radio
Collection of digitized "old time" radio via the Internet Archive.
Digital Public Library of America
Search for historical images, audio, and ephemera on the history of radio.
Lantern -- Media History Digital Library
Features millions of digitized pages of magazines and books from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)