Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film & Television Encyclopedias
The Film Encyclopedia: The Complete Guide to Film and the Film Industry, 7th ed. by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1993.45 .K34 2012; (LC) Ref PN1993.45 .K34 2008
New York: Collins Reference, 2012
Brief entries, comprehensive coverage.
Encyclopedia of Television Shows, 1925 through 2010, 2d Ed by
Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 T463 2011. 3 vols.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 2011.
Television shows aired in the US from 1925 to 2010, including prime time, daytime, late-night, and Saturday morning programs on network TV, in syndication, and on basic, premium, and specialized cable channels, as well as original programming on the Internet
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by
Call Number: (RH) Ref + PN1993.45.G65 2007. 4 vols.
Detroit: Schirmer Reference, 2007.
Lengthy articles with bibliographies on genre, films, technique, individuals, countries, organizations, laws.
The Encyclopedia of American Independent Filmmaking by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1993.45.L63.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Entries on genre, producers, directors, festivals, and organizations. Includes indexes for awards, distributors, and an extensive bibliography on the independent film industry.
Encyclopedia of Television, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: (RH) Ref + PN1992.18 .E53 2004
New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
Produced in conjunction with the Museum of Broadcast Communication, this source is good for production & cast facts, but provides poor analysis of social issues and historical events.
Film & Television Dictionaries
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by
Call Number: (RH,LC) Ref PN1993.45.C75 2001
New York: Routledge, 2001.
Lengthy articles on media topics & genres. Index includes key personalities, works, locations, organizations, and more. Includes a concept map. Articles are signed & have references.
The Film Studies Dictionary by
Call Number: (RH,LC) Ref PN1993.45.B53 2001
London: Arnold, 2001.
Brief articles, primarily on technique, genre, topics, theories, and organizations.
Film & TV Music
Film and Television Music: A Guide to Books, Articles, and Composer Interviews. by
Call Number: (RH) Ref ML128.M7 S545 2011
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2011.
MusicHound Soundtracks: The Essential Album Guide to Film, Television and Stage Music. by
Call Number: (RH) Ref ML156.9 .M87 2000
Detroit: Visible Ink, 2000.
Comprehensive Bibliography of Music for Film and Television by
Call Number: (RH) Ref ML128.M7 W47 1985
Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1985.
Film & Television Annuals & Surveys
Magill's Cinema Annual.
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1993.45 .M22
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1982-
In-depth retrospective of significant domestic and foreign films released in the U.S. Entries include credits, awards and nominations, MPAA ratings, critical reviews, author bylines, and obituaries. Indexed by title, director, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, art director, music, performer, and subject.
Film Review Annual
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1995 .F477 1981-2002
Englewood, NJ: J.S. Ozer, 1981 - 2002.
Provides full-text of selected film reviews and lists citations for supplemental reviews. Each annual includes indexes for: film critics, publications, cast, producers, directors, screenwriters, cinematographers, editors, music, and production crew.
Magill's Survey of Cinema, Silent Films by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1993.45 .M23. 3 vols.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1982.
Long critical summaries of some of the most important and popular films ever made (around 3,000), a sort of Masterplots for movies. Indexes include: title, director, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, performer. Also includes a glossary, and critical essays about the genre.
Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, First Series by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1993.45 .M24. 4 vols.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Salem Press, c1980.
Long critical summaries of some of the most important and popular films ever made (around 3,000), a sort of Masterplots for movies. Indexes include: title, director, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, performer. Also includes a chronology and glossary.
Magill's Survey of Cinema, English Language Films, Second Series by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1993.45 .M242. 6 vols.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1981.
Same format as the First Series set. Includes a Cumulative Index for both sets.
Magill's Survey of Cinema, Foreign Language Films by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1993.45 .M25. 8 vols.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1985.
Same format as the other Magill's Survey of Cinema sets.
Film & Television Almanacs & Directories
The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows, 1946-Present by
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref PN1992.18 .B68 2007
New York: Ballantine Books, 2007.
Brief entries, comprehensive coverage.
Performers' Television Credits, 1948-2000 by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1992.4.A2 P47 2002. 3 vols.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2002.
Comprehensive coverage of t.v. shows, made-for-t.v. movies, and mini-series.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN1997.8 .I6 1990 5 vols. 2nd ed.
Chicago : St. James Press, c1990-1994.
Biographical profiles and analysis of major works, many with images. Useful bibliographies.
Finding Film Scripts Online
Digital Collections & Archives
American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB)
The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the Boston public media producer GBH to coordinate a national effort to preserve public media content and provide a central web portal for access to the unique programming that public stations have aired over the past 70+ years. Over 122,000 items of television and radio programming contributed by more than 140 public media organizations and archives across the United States have been digitized for long-term preservation and access.
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning. America's preeminent public broadcasting producer, WGBH productions have documented our collective cultural heritage in moving images and sound.
Media History Digital Library
Digitizes collections of classic magazines at the University of Wisconsin-Madison covering the histories of cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections
Founded in 1928, this link contains digitized items from this world-renowned reference and research collection devoted to the history and development of the motion picture as an art form and an industry.
Moving Image Archive
Contains digital moving images uploaded by Internet Archive users ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, and more.
UCLA Library Digital Collections (legacy)
Digital collections including film stills, newspaper photo archives, silent animations, and more.
UCLA Library Digital Collections BETA (new)
This is the new website. The content from the legacy website is slowly being migrated here.
Henry Ransom Movie Posters
The Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin hosts a movie poster collection with an estimated 10,000 posters spanning the history of film from the silent era to the present day.
Library of Congress
Hosts 25 online collections featuring film and video.
Digital Public Library of America
Millions of digital images, texts, videos, and sound recordings from across the United States.
Museum of the Moving Image
Museum of the Moving Image is the country's only museum dedicated to the art, history, technique, and technology of the moving image in all its forms.
The Museum is a one-of-a-kind destination for audiences of all ages and interests, from connoisseurs of classic cinema to children and families to avid gamers.
Just a subway ride away: 36-01 35th Ave, Astoria, NY 11106. Call for hours: 718.777.6888.
Listed below are just a few of their online resources.
Moving Image Source
Features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar highlighting major retrospectives and festivals; and a regularly updated guide to online research materials.
The Living Room Candidate
Contains more than 300 commercials for presidential candidates since 1952.
Sloan Science & Film
Weekly online publication examining the intersection between science and film.
Discussions with creative figures in film, television, and digital media.
Film & Television Trade Resources
Additional access to trade information may be available via the library databases. Search the the trade publication title in the library catalog using the Periodical Title search. Or use the OneSearch and limit by Source Type = Trade Publications.
Industry news on box office sales for films, t.v. ratings, theater, music, and web rankings. (Limited free website access. Fordham does not subscribe to the website).
The Hollywood Reporter
Entertainment industry news, reviews, and charts. Includes links to “in production” and “pre-production” information (Limited free website access. Fordham does not subscribe to the website).
Find here current and historical box office numbers, news, industry analysis, reviews of US and international theatrical releases & festival screenings, feature articles and interviews with filmmakers and industry executives, vendor catalogs and literature from conferences and promotional events.
(Limited free website access. Fordham does not subscribe to the website).
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)