Research Guides @ Fordham: Communication & Media Studies: Citation & Style Resources

Citation & Writing Manuals

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
Online writing style guide for journalists, writers, editors, students and professionals. Provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style. Updated throughout the year as new style guidelines are developed. 25 SIMULTANEOUS USER LIMIT.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 8th edition by Kate L. Turabian, et al.
Call Number: (LC, RH, W) Ref Desk LB2369 .T8 2018
Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, [2018]
Also available electronically in our Digital Reserve Collection.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 9th Edition by Joseph Gibaldi
Call Number: (LC, RH, & W) Ref PE1478 .M57
New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2021.

MLA Style Center -- Using MLA Format
Companion website to MLA Handbook with guides, a digital citation tool, sample papers, writing tips, and a searchable “Ask the MLA” section for frequently asked questions and answers.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: (LC, RH, W) Ref Desk Z253 .C57 17th ed.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, [1906-

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Provides writing, editing and citing help.

Purdue OWL : Journalism and Journalistic Writing
This resource provides an overview of journalistic writing with explanations of the most important and most often used elements of journalism and the Associated Press style.
OWL - Purdue Online Writing Lab
Excellent site for citation information. Guidelines for APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles.
APA Citation Style Help
The American Psychological Association citation style website.
Citation & Style Research Guide
The research guide for citation and style created by Fordham Libraries.

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
Online writing style guide for journalists, writers, editors, students and professionals. Provides fundamental guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style. Updated throughout the year as new style guidelines are developed. 25 SIMULTANEOUS USER LIMIT.

Fordham University Writing Centers
From the website: "Providing more than a proofreading service, our tutors will work with you on a variety of logical, rhetorical, and grammatical concerns in your writing. We can assist you with any type of writing from your curriculum, from conception, to composition, to completion. Our aim is not only to help you perfect an individual essay; we want to help you develop the tools you need to become a better writer. Our service is free and, if you come with the right expectations and the willingness to participate actively in the session, extremely effective. "