Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication & Media Studies Research
This guide provides an overview of resources at Fordham University Libraries and beyond for the following programs of study:
- Communication and Culture
- Film and Television
- Digital Technologies and Emerging Media
- Public Media
- New Media & Digital Design
This page offers tips, guiding questions, and reference sources available through the library. Reference sources can provide authoritative background or summary information that will become helpful as you generate a research question, select keywords, and search for primary & secondary sources.
Areas of Focus
Communication & Media Studies focuses on the theories and techniques used to convey meaning to others. Identifying your area of focus helps generate keywords that help determine a direction when researching. Examples might include:
- film, television, radio
- journalism, news, mass media
- legal, ethical, and political aspects
- advertising & marketing
- public relations, public opinion, propaganda
- communications technology and digital design
- semiotics & graphic design
- video games
- digital media & internet studies
- linguistics, language
- social aspects of communication
- political aspects of communication
- psychological aspects of communication
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Offers researchers annotated bibliographies by top scholars on a variety of topics under Cinema & Media Studies and Communication. Citations are linked to full text resources when available.
Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press.
Use the following questions as a guide to help chart a direction and select resources for your research:
- What medium/mode of communication will you research? (e.g. film, journalism, blogs, television, gaming, social media, etc.)
- Is the focus of your research historical or modern?
- What theories and/or philosophies pertain to your research?
- Should you consider nationality, ethnicity, race, gender, religion, or affiliation?
- Are there legal, political, or ethical considerations?
- Are there technical, economic, or industry related considerations?
- How much and what type of information are you looking for? (e.g. scholarly articles, popular articles, books, images, data, images, video, sound recordings, etc.)
Selected Reference Books
Find additional reference titles through searching the library catalog by keyword.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)