Research Guides @ Fordham: Journalism: Background Sources &amp; Books

Terminology

Keywords in News and Journalism Studies [electronic resource] by Stuart Allan; Barbie Zelizer
McGraw-Hill Education, 2010.

Copy? Lede? Masthead? Muckraking? Tagline? This e-book offers definitions to terms used within professional journalism.

Background Information & Reference Sources

Print and electronic reference sources (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc) available at the libraries provide authoritative background information on a wide variety of topics. In some cases, these sources will suggest or link to additional resources for further reading.

Search the Library Catalog to locate print & electronic reference sources.

Search the databases below for electronic reference sources only.

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.

Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Includes sections on Communication, Cinema & Media Studies, and a sub-section on Journalism.

Finding Books

Check out the following short videos to learn how to search for books in the library catalog (and place a hold) or use OneSearch to locate books, articles, and more available at Fordham University Libraries.

Looking for ebooks only? Select the "Online Resources" option under the library dropdown limiter before your press Search in the catalog.