Research Guides @ Fordham: African &amp; African American Studies: Video &amp; Multimedia

Streaming Video

Black Studies Subject - AVON
The Black Studies subject from the database Academic Video Online (AVON). For more videos go to the Library Homepage, select the Databases Home option, and select the Videos & Multimedia page.
Black History Subject - AVON
The Black History subject from the database Academic Video Online (AVON). For more videos go to the Library Homepage, select the Databases Home option, and select the Videos & Multimedia page.
Slavery Subject - AVON
A collection of videos on the topic of slavery from the Academic Video Online (AVON) database - Slavery subject.
Slavery & Abolition Subject - AVON
A collection of videos on the topic of slavery & abolition from the Academic Video Online (AVON) database - Slavery Subject.
African American Studies - Film Platform Database
This is a link to the African American Studies subject collection from the Film Platform database.
Kanopy Social and Systemic Injustice List
Fordham may not subscribe to the full list. Holding may change over time.

Swank Motion Pictures Streaming Video Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of hundreds of films covering Film Studies, Sociology, Documentaries, and many other disciplines. Avoid using Safari browser with PCs.

Full List of Databases
Not seeing what you are looking for? This link will take you to the full list of DATABASES.

Video & Audio Links

The African American History Project (AAHP)
The African American History Project (AAHP) is an archive of 300+ oral history interviews conducted with African Americans around Alachua County and the American South. The collection centers on integration, education, and life in the Jim Crow South, and is the largest public African American history collection in the state of Florida.
Goin' North
Between 1910 and 1930, the African-American population of Philadelphia skyrocketed, from around 85,000 to nearly 220,000 in the early years of the Great Depression. Captured in oral history interviews conducted in the 1980s with aging Philadelphians who participated in and witnessed the Great Migration firsthand, these stories tell of both individual lives and collective experiences adapting to a new home in the "City of Brotherly Love."
Reconsidering Little Rock - Julian Bond
Civil Rights leader Julian Bond looks at the social ramifications of school desegregation in the last 50 years since nine African-American students made history by enrolling in the then all-white Little Rock Central High School in 1957. Series: "Reconsidering Little Rock: 50 Years After the Start of School Integration "
Reconsidering Little Rock - Terrence Roberts
Terrence Roberts, one of the original nine African-American students who desegregated Little Rock Central High School in 1957, looks back on the lessons learned about race and education in the last 50 years.
The Tuskegee Experience
A talk on the "Tuskegee Experience" by Robert Maxwell, one of the Tuskegee airmen.

Library Of Congress Digital Collections

Library of Congress - African American History Digital Collection
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

Old Aunt Julia Ann Jackson, age 102 and the corn crib where she lives.

Image from the Library of Congress American Memory project, Born In Slavery,

https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/99615221/

Podcasts & TED Talks

Intersectionality Matters! African American Policy Forum
Intersectionality Matters! is a podcast hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw, an American civil rights advocate and a leading scholar of critical race theory.
Color Blind or Color Brave, TED Talk.
Color Blind or Color Brave (2014) Mellody Hobson, TED.
The Power of Vulnerability, TED Talk.
The Power of Vulnerability (2010) Brené Brown, TED.
The Urgency of Intersectionality, TED Talk.
The Urgency of Intersectionality (2016) Kimberlé Crenshaw, TED
Democracy Now!
A Class Rebellion: Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor on How Racism & Racial Terrorism Fueled Nationwide Anger
Freedom Is A Constant Struggle
On January 23, 2019 the University of New England hosted a lecture from world-renowned political activist, academic and author Angela Davis as part of its annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration. Davis presented “Freedom is a Constant Struggle” .

Additional Films

Decade of Fire
This link is to the film via the Academic Video Online (AVON) database.
Just Mercy
This link is to the film via the Swank Motion Picture Streaming Video Database.
13th
This is to a Netflix YouTube free link to the full film. Combining archival footage with testimony from activists and scholars, director Ava DuVernay's examination of the U.S. prison system looks at how the country's history of racial inequality drives the high rate of incarceration in America.
Ethnic notions [videorecording (DVD)] / produced, written & directed by Marlon T. Riggs ; in association with KQED.
(LC,RH) W DVD 10,393
The streaming option links to the film via Kanopy.

Additional films that may be available via the Fordham Libraries: Fruitvale Station; By The People, The Election of Barack Obama; When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts; and a number of Spike Lee films. Holdings may change over time.

PBS Programs

Some of the content below requires a THIRTEEN Passport membership.

The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross
The six-part PBS series, The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross with Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Dynamics of Desegregation
Dynamics of Desegregation, which aired in 1962 and 1963, was a 15-part intensive study of race relations in the United States. Harvard psychology professor, Thomas F. Pettigrew, hosted the series. It looks at the historical, political, psychological, personal and cultural aspects of segregation, with a particular emphasis on the South.
Black Journal
WNET/Thirteen's monthly series (1968-77) of one-hour interconnected programs is produced for, about, and – to a large extent – by black Americans. The magazine format reports on the achievements, the concerns, and the attitudes of the nation’s black citizens. The executive producer is Tony Brown. Coverage includes the Newark Riots; a factory that produces black dolls; comedy; interviews.
Reconstruction: America After the Civil War
Reconstruction: America After the Civil War explores the transformative years following the American Civil War, when the nation struggled to rebuild itself in the face of profound loss, massive destruction, and revolutionary social change. The twelve years that composed the post-war Reconstruction era (1865-77) witnessed a seismic shift in the meaning and makeup of our democracy.
The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution
Independent Lens highlights a new documentary film each week from among the best independent filmmakers working today. The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution was aired as part of season 17, 2/2016.

DVDs and Videos in the Fordham Collection

Little Rock Central : 50 Years Later by Films for the Humanities & Sciences
Call Number: DVD 10,198 (Quinn Library)
Publication Date: 2008
A documentary look at the present day lives of Little Rock Central High School.
Black History: From Civil War Through Today by St. Clair Vision
Call Number: DVD 8408 V. 1 - V.6 (Walsh & Quinn Libraries)
Publication Date: 2007
The Negro Soldier by Mad Phat Enterprises
Call Number: DVD 12,322 (Quinn Library)
Publication Date: 2008
A documentary look at the representation of the negro soldier in media and culture throughout American history
Black Theatre: The Making of a Movement by California Newsreel
Call Number: DVD 11,403 (Quinn & Walsh Libraries)
Publication Date: 2007
The Tuskegee Airmen by HBO Pictures
Call Number: DVD 104 (Walsh Library)
Publication Date: 2000
A HBO film about the first African-American combat pilots in World War II.
Bamboozled by Spike Lee
Call Number: VHS 4955 (Walsh Library) & DVD 11,841 (Quinn Library)
Publication Date: 2000
Spike Lee's satire about a modern day minstrel show.
4 Little Girls by HBO Films
Call Number: DVD 788 (Quinn Library)
Publication Date: 2000
A historical documentary about the 1963 Birmingham bombing that left four African-American girls dead.
Africans in America : America's Journey Through Slavery
Call Number: DVD 763 V.1 & V.2 (Walsh and Quinn Libraries)
Publication Date: 2000
A four part documentary series that covers the history of African-American struggles in America.

African & African American Studies: Video & Multimedia