Research Guides @ Fordham: African &amp; African American Studies: Reference

General History & Demographics

African American Members of the United States Congress : 1870-2018
Authors: Ida A. Brudnick and Jennifer E. Manning
Publisher: [Washington, D.C.] : Congressional Research Service, 2018-

The African American Citizenship, 1865-Present by Henry Louis Gates; Lawrence D. Bobo; Linda Darling-Hammond (Editor); Michael Dawson (Editor); Gerald D. Jaynes (Editor); Claude Steele; Lisa Crooms-Robinson (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks E185.6 .O95 2012
New York : Oxford University Press.
American Founders : How People of African Descent Established Freedom in the New World by Christina Proenza-Coles
Montgomery, AL : NewSouth Books, [2019]
Black America : A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia, 2 vols. by Alton Hornsby (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Reference E185 .B517 2011
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, 2011.
Black Stats : African Americans by the Numbers in the Twenty-First Century by Monique W. Morris; Khalil Gibran Muhammad (Introduction by)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks E185.86 .M637 2014
New York, NY : The New Press, 2014.
Chocolate Cities : The Black Map of American Life by Marcus Anthony Hunter; Zandria Robinson
Call Number: (RH) Stacks E185 .H86 2018
Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2018]
The Complete Encyclopedia of African American History by Jessie Carney Smith; Lean'tin Bracks; Linda T. Wynn
Canton, MI : Visible Ink Press, [2014]
Encyclopedia of African American History by Leslie Alexander (Editor); Walter C. Rucker (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Reference E185 .E544 2010 vols. 1-3
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2010.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: (RH, W) Reference E185 .E545 2006 3 vols
New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, 5 vols. by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Reference E185 .E5453 2009, 5 vols.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Milestone Documents in African American History by Echol Lee Nix; Keturah C. Nix
Dallas, Texas : Schlager Group ; Amenia, New York : Grey House Publishing, [2017]

Bibliographies and Research Handbooks

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to African American or African Studies.

The Routledge Companion to the Philosophy of Race by Paul C. Taylor (Editor); Luvell Anderson (Editor); Linda Martín Alcoff (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
New York : Routledge, 2018.
Black Academic Libraries and Research Collections by Jessie Carney Smith
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks Z675.U5 S64
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1977.

Reference Books

Black Power : Radical Politics and African American Identity (updated edition) by Jeffrey O. G. Ogbar
Call Number: (RH) Stacks E185.615 .O34 2019
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2019
Black Power Encyclopedia by Karin L. Stanford (Editor); Jasmin A. Young (Editor); Akinyele Omowale Umoja (Editor)
Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood, an Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2018.
(Limited User Access - 2 Copies)

General Reference Collections

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, and 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Reference Series online including The Reference Shelf, The Decades-Fifties through Nineties, Great Events, Great Lives, Milestone Documents, Encyclopedia of American Immigration.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.

Quotations

Bartlett's Familiar Black Quotations by Retha Powers; Henry Louis Gates (Foreword by)
Call Number: (RH) Reference PN6081.3 .B37 2013
Boston, New York, London : Little, Brown and Company, 2013.

Racism

Racial Inequality in New York City Since 1965 by Chelli Devadutt (Editor); Benjamin P. Bowser (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Albany : State University of New York Press, [2019]
Racism in America : A Reader by Harvard University Harvard University Press (Editor)
Cambridge, MA : Harvard University Press, [2020]
Racism in America: a Reference Handbook by Steven L. Foy
Call Number: ebook
Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2020]
Stamped : Racism, Antiracism, and You by Jason Reynolds; Ibram X. Kendi
Call Number: ebook
New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2020.

Cultural History

African American Culture: an Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs [3 Volumes] by Omari L. Dyson (Editor); Judson L. Jeffries (Editor); Kevin L. Brooks (Editor)
Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2020]
African American Folklore : An Encyclopedia for Students by Anand Prahlad (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks GR111.A47 A35 2016
Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood, an Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2016]
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History : The Black Experience in the Americas, 2nd ed. by Palmer, Colin A.
Call Number: (LC, RH) Reference E185 .E54 2006
Farmington Hills : Cengage Gale [2005]
Listening to the Lomax Archive : The Sonic Rhetorics of African American Folksong in the 1930s by Jonathan W. Stone
Call Number: ebook
Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, 2021.

Atlases

Atlas of African-American History, Revised Edition by James Ciment
Call Number: (RH) Reference E185 .C55 2007
New York : Facts On File, 2007.

Readex Lesson Plans

The Readex primary source databases provide free lesson plans to assist instructors with curriculum and assignment design. The lesson plans are available on request from the database publisher. Please note: Fordham does not subscribe to all of the databases listed in the lesson plans.

Readex Lesson Plans
Relevant topics are:
- W.E.B. Du Bois Addresses the “Race Issue” (1904)
- Booker T. Washington Addresses the “Race Issue” (1904)

African & African American Studies: Reference