Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Slave Revolts and Conspiracies : A Reference Guide by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks E447 .W37 2015
Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, 
The Black book, compiled by Middleton Harris, with the assistance of Morris Levitt, Roger Furman and Ernest Smith. by
Call Number: (RH) Oversize Stacks E185 .B56 1974
New York, Random House 
New England Bound : Slavery and Colonization in Early America by
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks E446 .W26 2016
New York : Liveright Publishing Corporation, 
The Oxford Handbook of the African American Slave Narrative by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PS366.A35 O94 2014
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 
Databases and Digital Collections
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 (Gale Platform) This link opens in a new window
Gale's American Historical Periodicals collection offers a highly comprehensive documentary history of the American experience spanning four centuries with multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America. History is presented through the eyes of those who experienced it, showing its impact on citizens from all walks of life.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text of OUP reference books on African Americans. Includes the entire contents of the Dictionary of African Biography and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
From HeinOnline, covers slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. Includes content from the Buffalo Erie County Public Library. Includes every state and federal statute, legal commentary, pamphlets and books from the 19th century, and other hard to find materials such as essays and articles in obscure journals. Provides word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. Must Register for an Account.
Slavery & Abolition : A Journal of Slave and Post-Slave Studies
Slavery & Abolition is devoted in its entirety to a discussion of the demographic, socio-economic, historical and psychological aspects of human bondage from the ancient period to the present. It is also concerned with the dismantling of the slave systems and with the legacy of slavery.
Slavery in America: A Resource Guide
A link to the Library of Congress Slavery in America resource guide.
Slave Voyages : The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database now comprises 36,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, routes, and the people associated with them, both enslaved and enslavers. Sources are cited for every voyage included. Users may search for information about a specific voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, a timeline, and an animation.
Slavery & Higher Education
On Juneteenth by
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks E185.93.T4 G67 2021
New York : Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company, 
Congressional Research Service (CRS) : Juneteenth Fact Sheet
This fact sheet assists congressional offices with work related to Juneteenth. It contains sample
speeches and remarks from the Congressional Record, presidential proclamations and remarks,
and selected historical and cultural resources.
The Historical Legacy of Juneteenth
From the National Museum of African American History and Culture (Smithsonian) this webpost discusses the historical legacy of Juneteenth and the value of never giving up hope in uncertain times.
The Juneteenth Book Festival Symposium on Black Literature & Literacy
From the Library of Congress, this is a recording of a day-long symposium on Juneteenth, one of the oldest observances marking the end of the enslavement of African descendants in the United States.
New York State Executive Order Recognizing Juneteenth as a Holiday for State Employees
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo issued an Executive Order recognizing Juneteenth as a holiday for state employees, in recognition of the official emancipation of African Americans throughout the United States. The Governor will also advance legislation to make Juneteenth an official state holiday in future years.
Juneteenth Holiday at Fordham
Friday, June 19, will be a paid holiday for all Fordham employees this year, and every year thereafter, in observance of Juneteenth, the date upon which news of emancipation finally reached Galveston, Texas.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)