Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature Database - MLA
Because of the large literary movement that took place during this time, the MLA International Bibliography is a great place to locate information about the notable writers that influenced the Harlem Renaissance.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this subject index dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers. Covers modern languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Does not include MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Harlem Speaks: a living history of the Harlem Renaissance by
Call Number: (LC - AV & stacks) (RH - EIC) PS153.N5 H267 2007 (Book and CD)
Naperville, Ill. : Sourcebooks, 2007.
African Art in the Barnes Foundation : : The Triumph of L'Art Nègre and the Harlem Renaissance by
Call Number: (RH) Oversize Stacks + N7380.5 .C53 2015
New York, NY : Skira Rizzoli ; Philadelphia, PA : In association with the Barnes Foundation, 2015.
The Barnes Foundation was one of the first permanent installations in the United States to present objects from Africa as fine art. This comprehensive volume showcases all 123 objects, including reliquary figures, masks, and utensils. In-depth catalog entries by noted scholars in the field complete the volume.
The Harlem Renaissance by
Call Number: (RH) Stacks NX512.3.A35 H55 2008
Detroit, MI : Omnigraphics, 2008.
A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Materials - Library of Congress
African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s are well represented in the vast collections of the Library of Congress. This guide presents the Library's resources as well as links to external Web sites on the Harlem Renaissance and a bibliography.
The Harlem Renaissance was originally known as the New Negro Movement and was culturally and artistically significant in American history, particularly in Harlem, New York during the early half of the twentieth century.
General Reference Books
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by
Call Number: (RH) Ref NX512.3.A35 E53 2004, 2 vols.
New York : Routledge, 2004.
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PS153.N5 B557 2014
Lanham : Rowan & Littlefield, 
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era profiles the most important figures of this cultural and intellectual movement. This reference work includes representatives not only from the literary scene but also activists, actresses, artists, educators, entrepreneurs, musicians, and political leaders.
Encyclopedia of African American History by
Call Number: (RH) Ref E185 .E544 2010 vols. 1-3
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2010.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance by
Call Number: (RH) Ref PS153.N5 B675 2006
New York : Facts On File, 2006.
African American Authors, 1745-1945 : A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. by
Call Number: (LC stacks), (RH Ref) PS153.N5 A133 2000
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
Harlem Renaissance and Beyond : Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers, 1900-1950 by
Call Number: (LC stacks), (RH Ref) PS153.N5 R65 1990
Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1990.
Black American Writers Past and Present by
Call Number: (LC Stacks), (RH Ref) PS153.N5 A11
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1975.
Harlem Renaissance Lives from the African American national biography by
Call Number: (RH) Ref E185.6 .H265 2009
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)