Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Video & Audio Links
African-American History Month with the University Presses
A series of interviews with authors of books on African American History that have been published by several University Presses.
The African American History Project (AAHP)
The African American History Project (AAHP) is an archive of 300+ oral history interviews conducted with African Americans around Alachua County and the American South. The collection centers on integration, education, and life in the Jim Crow South, and is the largest public African American history collection in the state of Florida.
Between 1910 and 1930, the African-American population of Philadelphia skyrocketed, from around 85,000 to nearly 220,000 in the early years of the Great Depression. Captured in oral history interviews conducted in the 1980s with aging Philadelphians who participated in and witnessed the Great Migration firsthand, these stories tell of both individual lives and collective experiences adapting to a new home in the "City of Brotherly Love."
PBS Black Culture Connection
PBS Black Culture Connection is a guide to films, stories and voices across public television centered around Black history & culture.
Reconsidering Little Rock - Julian Bond
Civil Rights leader Julian Bond looks at the social ramifications of school desegregation in the last 50 years since nine African-American students made history by enrolling in the then all-white Little Rock Central High School in 1957. Series: "Reconsidering Little Rock: 50 Years After the Start of School Integration "
Reconsidering Little Rock - Terrence Roberts
Terrence Roberts, one of the original nine African-American students who desegregated Little Rock Central High School in 1957, looks back on the lessons learned about race and education in the last 50 years.
The Tuskegee Experience
A talk on the "Tuskegee Experience" by Robert Maxwell, one of the Tuskegee airmen.
Seal of Liberia
Seal of Liberia
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, General Research and Reference Division
Sir Harry Hamilton Johnston, Liberia , vol. I (London: Hutchinson & Co., 1906)
The African-American Migration Experience
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience is A compilation of text, illustrations, and maps that presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds.
The African-American Mosaic
A Resource guide from the Library of Congress on study of African-American history and culture.
From the library of congress, this is a digital exhibition of books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings related to African American history
Amistad Research Center of Tulane University
A library of independent manuscripts dedicated to preserving the history and culture of African Americans and other ethnic minorities.
Association for the Study of African American Life and History
ASALH's mission is to create and disseminate knowledge about Black History. The ASALH publishes the Journal of African American History.
Black Family Research
Records of Post-Civil War Federal Agencies at the National Archives.
Reference Information Paper 108.
National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, DC : 2001
The Black Past
A 10,000 page reference center on African American History that contains an online encyclopedia on African American History, Global African History, and history of African Americans in the West.
Born In Slavery
A digital collection created by the Library of Congress, Born In Slavery contains over 2,300 typewritten narratives containing first hand accounts from former slaves, and over 500 black and white photographs of former slaves.
Center for Black Music Research
A research unit of Columbia College Chicago devoted to research, preservation, and dissemination of information about the history of black music on a global scale.
Hutchins Center for African and African American Research
The nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of African Americans.
The Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change Archive
View online materials from the King Library and Archives. The Archives consists of MLK's papers, pictures, speeches correspondence, and brochures and holds records of 8 major civil rights organizations.
National Archive - African American Heritage
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration holds a wealth of material documenting the Black experience. This page highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC)
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. It was established by Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans.
Negro Leagues Baseball History
Includes statistics on players and teams from the Negro League era. This history includes rosters from individual teams, league leaders in stats, and a wiki on each world series and other important events.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery on Africana & Black History
Several thousand items ranging from historical documents and rare visual materials to contemporary photo-journalism, relating to the entirety of African American history from the 16th century to the present
NYPL - Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Founded in 1925 and named a National Historic Landmark in 2017, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is one of the world’s leading cultural institutions devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences. As a research division of The New York Public Library, the Schomburg Center features diverse programming and collections spanning over 11 million items that illuminate the richness of global black history, arts, and culture.
University of California Television - Programs in African-American Studies
A collection of videos including lectures and discussion on topics in African-American history.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)