Research Guides @ Fordham: African &amp; African American Studies: African American Theater

Collections

African American Theater : a cultural companion by Glenda Dickerson
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PN2270.A35 D53 2008
Cambridge, UK ; Malden, MA : Polity, 2008
The A to Z of African American Theater by Anthony D. Hill; Douglas Q. Barnett
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref PN2270.A35 H53 2009B
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2009.
Black Dionysus : Greek tragedy and African American theatre by Kevin J. Wetmore
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PS338.N4 W48 2003
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland and Company, 2003.
The Cambridge Guide to African and Caribbean Theatre by Martin Banham (Editor); Errol Hill (Editor); George Woodyard (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PN2969 .C36 1994
Cambridge ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, c1994.
Historical Dictionary of African American Theater, 2nd ed. by Anthony D. Hill
Call Number: (RH) Reference PN2270.A35 H53 2018
Lanham ; Boulder ; New York ; London : Rowman & Littlefield, [2018]
A History of African American Theatre by James V. Hatch; Errol G. Hill; Don B. Wilmeth (Contribution by)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks PN2270 .A23 H55 2003
Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.

Databases & Websites

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text of OUP reference books on African Americans. Includes the entire contents of the Dictionary of African Biography and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.

Black Theater Network
Dedicated to the Exploration and Preservation of the Theatrical Visions of the African Diaspora
National Black Theatre Festival
Larry Leon Hamlin was the founder, producer and artistic director of the National Black Theatre Festival® (NBTF), one of the most historic and culturally significant events, not only in the history of Black theater but also in American theater
The Black Rep
Founded in 1976 by Producing Director Ron Himes, The Black Rep is the largest, professional African-American theatre company in the nation and the largest African-American performing arts organization in Missouri.
Lorraine Hansberry Theatre
Founded in 1981, Lorraine Hansberry Theatre is the San Francisco Bay Area's premiere African-American and multicultural theatre company.

Theater

Image ID:	1232434
Title:	The house of good plays; The Lafayette Theatre; Seventh Avenue and 132nd Street.
Source:	The crusader.
Name:	Briggs, Cyril V. (1888-) - Editor
Published:	1918-1922
Location:	Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)