Research Guides @ Fordham: Business Research: Human Resources

Books on Human Resources

Financial Analysis for HR Managers by Steven Director
Call Number: (RH) OHF5549 .D5266
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
FT Press, 2016
Managing Human Behavior in Public and Nonprofit Organizations by Maria P. Aristigueta; Robert B. Denhardt; Janet V. Denhardt
Call Number: (WC) JF1351.D449
Publication Date: 2012
Los Angeles, California
Sage Publications, 2016
Transformative HR [electronic resource] by John Boudreau; Ravin Jesuthasan
San Francisco, CA
Jossey-Bass, 2017

Useful Databases for Human Resources

To find articles on a particular subject, enter a search term in a database such as those listed below and it will provide articles from various journals on your desired topic.

Mergent Online (Includes Investext) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more.Use Firefox for best results.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
NEW PLATFORM. Major U.S. and world news company profiles, SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and Hoover's Company Reports. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers. FOR BEST RESULTS: MUST CREATE ACCOUNT & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.
See link below for downloading information....
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

Databases That Provide Executive Information

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
AtoZdatabases Academic This link opens in a new window
The premier job search, reference, and mailing list database ideal for sales leads,
market research, company or industry research, building business plans, and helping entrepreneurs.
View "More" for information on filtering searches
Mergent Online (Includes Investext) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more.Use Firefox for best results.

Journals on Human Resources

Access to these publications may be found on the Fordham Library website by entering the title under "Quick Search" in the "Electronic Books and Journals" search box.

Human Resources Magazine (1173-7522)
Journal of Human Capital (1932-8575)
Journal of Human Resources (0022-166X)

Human Resources Websites

Career Builder
Monster.com
National Compensation Survey: Occupational Wages in the U.S.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Onet Online
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information.
Society for Human Resource Management
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupational Outlook Handbook
Work Force Magazine
Workforce is a multimedia publication that covers the intersection of people management and business strategy.

Business Research: Human Resources

Books on Human Resources

Useful Databases for Human Resources

Databases That Provide Executive Information

Journals on Human Resources

Human Resources Websites

Reference & Instruction Department