Research Guides @ Fordham: Business Research: Find Industry Research

What are Industry Codes?

Industry classification codes organize companies into industrial groupings based on similar production processes, similar products, or similar behavior in financial markets. The two most-used systems in the United States are NAICS and SIC.

U.S. Department of Commerce - Census - NAICS Code Lookup
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Census.Gov Industry Portal
Search for Industry Information and Statistics by using this site which allows searching by Industry keyword or NAICS code.

Reference Books on the Subject of Industry

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: (LC, RH, W) Ref HF5681.R25 T7
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.
Prentice-Hall
Encyclopedia of American Industries [electronic resource]
Detroit, Michigan
Gale, 2019
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Call Number: (RH) Ref.+HC102 .E54 2007
Millerton, NY
Grey House Publishing, 2017

Databases For Industry Research

Business Insights: Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Research and analyze worldwide companies and industries. Extensive reference content from scholarly journals, news, market research reports, market share reporter, SWOT reports and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Enhances Mergent Online with details of public and private companies in the US and worldwide. Includes contact information, financials, and key personnel.
Note: You may need to enter your Fordham email address to access some of the content in this database.
Mergent Online (Includes Investext) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more.Use Firefox for best results.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of industry and company analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Equity Research, and new “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies. There are only some Capital IQ functions in the NetAdvantage platform. Fordham does not subscribe to Capital IQ.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)